Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 18:43:47

Sponsor 743
May 8
Duck River Raceway Park,
Wheel, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 9, 2:44 pm)
Starting 12th, McDowell edges Ogle at Duck River
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Billy Ogle Jr.
  3. Jared Landers
  4. Clint Smith
  5. Michael Chilton
  6. Donald McIntosh
  7. Randy Weaver
  8. Brad Skinner
  9. Josh Putnam
  10. Stacy Boles
  11. Eric Hickerson
  12. David Payne
  13. Austin Smith
  14. Mark Fields
  15. Ray McElhiney
  16. Daniel Miller
  17. Vic Hill
  18. Kenny Collins
  19. Clint Nichols
  20. Caleb Ashby
  21. Shane Clanton
  22. Chase Junghans
presented by
Connie Putnam/photobyconnie.com
Dale McDowell tunes up before his 12th-to-first rally at Duck River.
What won the race: A high-running Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., charged from the 12th starting position, taking the lead from Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., just before the white flag in the 40-lapper to become the second repeat winner in series history.
Quotable: “The car was good. My hat’s off to the TDR guys, my brother Shane and Jessie and all those guys,” McDowell said. “I’d like to dedicate this to my mother. She’s been gone a couple of years, but she used to love to come over here with us racing years ago. So with Mother’s Day being Sunday, Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there.”
Key notes: McDowell and Vic Hill made lap-28 contact battling for fourth that left Hill's car with significant left-front damage; he showed displeasure with McDowell under caution. ... Polesitter Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., one of three World of Outlaws regulars in the field, led the first 14 laps, but he lost the lead to Ogle when he briefly got hung up on the car of Clint Nichols while trying to lap him exiting turn two. ... Smith's fellow WoO counterparts Shane Clanton and Chase Junghans were the feature's first retirees. ... McDowell has two victories and five top-five finishes in nine 2014 starts. ... Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., is the tour's only previous two-time winner. ... The event was the first of a weekend tripleheader that wraps up the second season for Ray Cook-promoted series.
On the move: Besides McDowell, Jared Landers, of Batesville, Ark., rallied from eighth to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Team Dillon Racing Warrior Race Car is powered by a ECR Engine and carries sponsorship from Bad Boy Buggies, Big Dog Motorsports, Cometic Gasket, Ferris Commercial Mowers, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, National Boiler Services, UNOH, WTW Enterprises and YouAreHollywood.com.
Points chase: With his runner-up finish, Billy Ogle Jr. (1,312) extended his points lead over sixth-finishing Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., and fifth-finishing Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky. McIntosh and Chilton have 1,270 points apiece with two races remaining.
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Clint Smith
Time: 12.264 seconds
Polesitter: Clint Smith
Consolation race winners: Shane Clanton, Stacy Boles, Josh Putnam, Dale McDowell
Provisional starters: Ray McElhiney, Austin Smith
Next series race: May 10, Dixie Speedway (Woodstock, GA) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728