Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 12:55:30

Sponsor 743
August 29
Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway,
Calvert City, KY
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA - $2,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 30, 1:05 pm)
Ownbey denies Hickman's sweep at KLMS
  1. John Ownbey
  2. Riley Hickman
  3. Ashley Newman
  4. Ronnie Johnson
  5. Matt Henderson
  6. Troy English
  7. Jake Teague
  8. Eric Cooley
  9. Tait Davenport
  10. Ryan King
  11. Ronnie Cooper
  12. Ricky Waggoner
  13. Ryan Crane
  14. Brent Lewis
  15. Chase Edge
  16. Will Roland
  17. Ben Garner
  18. Marcus Minga
  19. Gavin Landers
  20. Todd Morrow
  21. Eric Taylor
  22. Eric Hickerson
  23. Michael Blount
  24. Credence Mott
presented by
Bruce Carroll
John Ownbey gets up to speed at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter John Ownbey regained the lead from Tennessee rival Riley Hickman with three laps remaining at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway to grab a $2,500 NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series victory. Hickman, who overtook Owenby on the 39th lap, ended up second and lost a chance at a $1,000 bonus he'd have earned for adding a Saturday victory to his Friday night triumph.
Quotable: “I’m not used to running a track this big, so I was wanting to turn into the corner about halfway down the straightaways,” Ownbey said. “We’ve never traveled much until we started going to the NeSmith races, but we’re having a lot of fun doing it, and learning new things. If we thought we were going to run this well, we might have started at the beginning of the season!”
Key notes: Ownbey led three times for 30 laps. ... Ryan King led the third lap and Hickman led laps 39-47. ... Ownbey scored his third series victory of the season; he also won June 5-6 at Tri-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C., and 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tenn. ... Fourteen drivers completed 50 laps. ... The Crate Late Model series made its first trip to KLMS for a weekend doubleheader. ... The Southern All Star Super Late Models were also in action, with Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., scoring a weekend sweep. ... Entering the KLMS weekend, the series had 20 leaders and 20 lead changes among 15 races.
Winner's sponsors: Ownbey's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Auto Depot, JRC Motorsports, Stealth Carburetor and Outlaw Disc Brakes.
Points chase: Leaving KLMS, Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., has 1,448 points to lead Ryan King (1,358) and Chase Edge (1,318).
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: John Ownbey
Time: 15.840 seconds
Polesitter: John Ownbey
Consolation race winners: Todd Morrow
Next series race: September 5, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information