Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2023 05:53:05

Sponsor 743
August 30
Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway,
Oshkosh, WI
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (George Scheffler Memorial) - $7,000
Information provided by: Derek Sabourin and series reports (last updated August 31, 9:05 am)
Mars earns $7,000 in Scheffler Memorial at Oshkosh
George Scheffler Memorial
  1. Jimmy Mars
  2. A.J. Diemel
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Mitch McGrath
  5. Mike Mullen
  6. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  7. Jason Feger
  8. Nick Anvelink
  9. Paul Parker
  10. Dave Fieber
  11. Jason Rauen
  12. Taylor Scheffler
  13. Brad Mueller
  14. Lance Matthees
  15. Jason Utter
  16. Justin Schmidt
  17. Jim Schmidt
  18. Doug Blashe
  19. Mark Rose
  20. Mike Stadel
  21. Justin Ritchie
  22. Brett Swedberg
  23. Matt Furman
  24. Rick Scheffler
  25. Spencer Diercks
  26. Mike Fryer
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jimmy Mars gets a hold of the surface in Oshkosh prelims.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., earned $7,000 Sunday at Oshkosh in the sixth annual George Scheffler Memorial for his first Corn Belt Clash victory. Mars took the lead from last year's race winner Chad Simpson on the 25th lap and deftly handled traffic the rest of the way in the 50-lapper. Teammate A.J. Diemel briefly slipped by, but Mars kept him in check while Simpson finished third.
Key notes: Nine drivers finished on the lead lap. ... The event was postponed to late afternoon Sunday after Friday rain. ... The race honored late Wisconsin racer George Scheffler, a former regular at the now-closed Hales Corners Speedway and father of racers Russ and Rick Scheffler. ... The $27,525 purse paid $7,000-to-win and $400-to-start. ... Oshkosh hosted its second major Late Model event of the season; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., won May 15's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race.
On the move: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 18th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Mars's MB Customs machine has a Pro Power Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Baleigh Industrial, Deppe Enterprises, Joe Provo Racewear, Keyes Chevytown, Mars Race Cars, Moore Wireline, S&S Transport, Tim's Automotive and T.L. Sinz Plumbing.
Points chase: Through August, Chad Simpson has 377 points to lead Jason Utter (320) and Dave Eckrich (302).
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Jimmy Mars, Chad Simpson, Paul Parker, A.J. Diemel, Mitch McGrath
Consolation race winners: Rick Scheffler, Jason Rauen
Next series race: September 4, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Simpson, McGrath
Row 2: Diemel, Mars
Row 3: Parker, Mullen
Row 4: Heckenast, Fieber
Row 5: Swedberg, Matthees
Row 6: Mueller, Anvelink
Row 7: Ji. Schmit, Ju. Schmidt
Row 8: Blashe, T. Scheffler
Row 9: Rauen, Feger
Row 10: Ritchie, Utter
Row 11: Rose, Diercks
Row 12: Fryer, Stadel
Row 13: Ri. Scheffler, Furman
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information