Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 19:06:44

Sponsor 743
May 4
81 Speedway,
Park City, KS
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Border Wars) - $3,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated May 5, 9:27 am)
Gustin completes sweep of Border Wars at 81
Border Wars
  1. Ryan Gustin
  2. Brandon McCormick
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Bill Leighton Jr.
  5. Tony Jackson Jr.
  6. Terry Phillips
  7. Chris Kratzer
  8. Justin Asplin
  9. Jeremy Payne
  10. Kyle Berck
  11. Tommy Weder Jr.
  12. Leroy Johnson
  13. Gary Gorby
  14. Jeremy Petty
  15. Dave Deetz
  16. Jacob Magee
  17. Wylan Petrie
  18. Garrett Alberson
  19. Kasey Beckham
  20. Bill Leighton Sr.
presented by
Todd Boyd
Ryan Gustin cruises around 81 Speedway during his big weekend.
What won the race: Polesitter Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, dominated Sunday's Border Wars event to collect his second Border Wars victory in as many nights in a tri-sanctioned special event. He built a straightaway lead by lap nine and led all 30 laps while Brandon McCormick and Jesse Stoball battled for second early with McCormick taking control of the runner-up spot by halfway.
Key notes: With back-to-back victories in the MARS tour's weekend tripleheader, Gustin becomes the series first repeat winner in seven races. ... The race was also co-sanctioned by the National Championship Racing Association and Championship Dirt Motorsports. ... Gustin led all 65 laps of his weekend action, including 35 at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park. ... Bill Leighton Jr. of Omaha, Neb., notched his second straight top-five finish.
On the move: Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., improved two spots from his eighth starting spot.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin’s Ed and Cinde Gressel-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Eibach Springs, FastShafts by AxleExchange, Hinchman Racewear, Integra Racing Shocks, McCarthney Welding, Midwest Hearing Aids, R2C Performance Products, Sybesma Graphics and VP Race Fuels.
Car count: 20
Polesitter: Ryan Gustin
Heat race winners: Brandon McCormick, Bill Leighton Jr., Ryan Gustin
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728