Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 03:01:26

Sponsor 743
August 22
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Southern United Professional Racing - $2,000
Information provided by: Bryan Wimberley (last updated August 23, 8:57 pm)
Lipsey snaps SUPR win drought at Greenville
  1. Curt Lipsey
  2. B.J. Robinson
  3. Kody Barber
  4. Mark Tice
  5. Jon Mitchell
  6. Rob Litton
  7. Robert Metz Jr.
  8. Tanner Kellick
  9. Allen Tippen
  10. Tyler Erb
  11. Duke Palasini
  12. Ryan Colby
  13. Brett Frazier
  14. Doug Showah
  15. Jim Bryant
  16. Bubba Harrison
presented by
Tommy Best/Best Photography
Curt Lipsey visits victory lane at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.
What won the race: After crossing the line third on the white-flag lap, Curt Lipsey of Albany, La., captured his first victory on the P&W Sales Southern United Professional Racing Series in nearly 13 years, coming out on top of a wild yellow-flag finish Saturday at Greenville Speedway. Allen Tippen took the white flag first, but contact by a following Tyler Erb sent Tippen spinning between turns one and two. Erb was black-flagged for rough driving and he was scored as the last car on the lead lap, one spot behind Tippen.
Key notes: Lipsey's only previous SUPR triumph was on Oct. 18, 2002, at Baton Rouge (La.) Raceway. ... Lipsey entered the evening's action coming off a second-place finish in the last SUPR event on Aug. 8 at Battleground Speedway in Highlands, Texas. ... Allen Tippen, Tyler Erb and crew members were part of a postrace dispute over the finish with officials and track security scrambling to restore order. ... After running the track surface in following rain that delayed the start of the program, hot laps were completed shortly before 9:30 p.m. CT. ... After raining out earlier this season at Greenville, the tour made its first visit to the gumbo clay oval since Robbie Stuart's victory Aug. 31, 2014.
On the move: B.J. Robinson of Bossier City, La., advanced from the race's last starting spot (16th) to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Lipsey's Rocket Chassis is powered by a Keith Craft engine and sponsored by G&L Builders, Curt Lipsey Trucking and A-OK Mobile Home Moving.
Points chase: With a fifth-place finish, SUPR points leader Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, continued his march toward a second straight championship. He entered the night only having to average a 17th-place finish or better over the final four series races to clinch the crown.
Car count: 16
Polesitter: Tyler Erb
Heat race winners: Duke Palasini, Tyler Erb
Next series race: September 5, Lone Star Speedway (Kilgore, TX) $3,000
Editor's note: Updates winner's sponsors; correct hometowns and other details.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Erb, Palasini
Row 2: Bryant, Lipsey
Row 3: Barber, Kellick
Row 4: Mitchell, Tippen
Row 5: Frazier, Showah
Row 6: Tice, Litton
Row 7: Colby, Harrison
Row 8: Metz, Robinson
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information