Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 06:11:52

Sponsor 743
August 22
Lawrenceburg Speedway,
Lawrenceburg, IN
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Whiskey City 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated August 23, 9:37 am)
Bloomquist outruns J.D. for Whiskey City 50 win
Whiskey City 50
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Jonathan Davenport
  3. Jimmy Owens
  4. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.
  6. Jason Jameson
  7. Earl Pearson Jr.
  8. Brandon Sheppard
  9. Don O'Neal
  10. Jared Landers
  11. Scott James
  12. Robby Hensley
  13. Steve Francis
  14. Duane Chamberlain
  15. Michael Chilton
  16. Brandon Kinzer
  17. Josh Rice
  18. Chris Brown
  19. Dennis Franklin
  20. Kent Robinson
  21. Austin Mills
  22. Justin Rattliff
  23. Dustin Linville
  24. Bill Sheets
presented by
Jeremey Rhoades
Scott Bloomquist earned a $10,000 payday at Lawrenceburg.
What won the race: Overtaking polesitter Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., on lap 17 of 50, second-starting Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., led the remaining distance for a $10,000 victory in Lawrenceburg Speedway's Whiskey City 50.
On the move: Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., charged from the 18th starting position to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Sweet-Bloomquist chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropratic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Lucas Oil Products, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing and Weld Racing Wheels.
Points chase: Exiting Lawrenceburg, Jonathan Davenport has 5,025 points to lead Bloomquist (4,775) and Jimmy Owens (4,760).
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Scott Bloomquist
Time: 14.317 seconds
Polesitter: Steve Francis
Heat race winners: Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport
Consolation race winners: Dustin Linville
Provisional starters: Justin Rattliff, Josh Rice
Next series race: August 28, Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway (Imperial, PA) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

LAWRENCEBURG, Ind. (Aug. 22) — Saturday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series stop marked a career first for Hall of Famer Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. — his first career victory at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Starting outside the front row, Bloomquist overtook polesitter Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., on lap 17 of 50, leading the remaining distance to earn a $10,000 payday in his third Lucas Oil Series triumph of the 2015 season.

“We’ve been pretty good lately,” Bloomquist said in victory lane. “We’ve worked hard and tested a little bit and just trying to find where we’ve been missing it. For a while you start looking in the mirror, you start thinking, ‘I need to just get up on the wheel a little harder.’ We definitely didn’t leave anything on the table out there tonight...we’ve just begun to fight.”

Bloomquist battled Francis in the early running, charging to the front of the field just shy of the race’s halfway point and holding back late-race challenges from Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., for his first career Whiskey City 50 victory.

“I knew when we could get down below him (Francis) and run through the middle early when the cushion was quite a bit more dominant that we were pretty good and ended up being able to rely on that later in the race,” Bloomquist said. “Even though we had to get up on top there and hustle it pretty hard in one and two, we could still run the middle in three and four. The car was really good tonight.”

Advancing from the fourth starting spot, Davenport finished runner-up, with Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., rallying from the ninth starting position to notch a podium finish. Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., ran fourth, with Dennis Erb Jr. charging from the 18th starting spot to round out the top five.

“We was pretty good there,” Davenport said. “We missed it just a little bit really, being the first time here with Kevin (Rumley) and second time overall. Scott (Bloomquist) was good tonight. They’ve been working hard. Like he said usually about me, he had to use that cushion tonight to stay ahead of us. We was a little bit better through the middle than he was I think, but it’s just part of it. We’ll go on to the next one.”

After fighting bad luck in his last two Lucas Oil Series starts, Owens was pleased to end the night with a top-three finish.

“We had a pretty good hotrod tonight,” Owens said. “I wish we would have got to start a little further up front there. But we set ourselves back quite a bit qualifying and wasn’t all that good in the heat race. My guys made some good adjustments to the car and we had a pretty good hotrod for the feature. I felt really maneuverable, could run high, low, in the middle. But it just took me too long.”

Notes: Bloomquist tops the Lucas Oil Series all-time win list with 57 career victories. He has three on the 2015 season. ... The first yellow flag waved on lap 11 when Justin Rattliff slowed in turns three and four. … Dustin Linville and Don O’Neal tangled in turn two to draw a caution on lap 14; Linville retired, O’Neal continued. … Another yellow waved on lap 19 when second-running Steve Francis slowed with a flat tire. … Josh Rice slowed to draw a caution on lap 22. … Another yellow flag waved for Chris Brown on lap 40. ... Duane Chamberlain piloted the Gary Engle-owned No. 15.

Lucas Oil points

(Through Aug. 22)
1. Jonathan Davenport - 5,025
2. Scott Bloomquist - 4,775
3. Jimmy Owens - 4,760
4. Earl Pearson Jr. - 4,700
5. Don O’Neal - 4,530
6. Brandon Sheppard - 4,420
7. Dennis Erb Jr. - 4,405
8. Eddie Carrier Jr. - 4,275
9. Steve Francis - 4,255
10. Jared Landers - 4,250

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information