Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 03:13:52

Sponsor 743
August 21
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association - $1,100
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 22, 9:03 am)
Mooney leads all the way for River Cities victory
  1. Bill Mooney
  2. Ricky Weiss
  3. Mike Balcaen
  4. Donny Schatz
  5. Joey Pederson
  6. Brad Seng
  7. Dustin Strand
  8. Shane Edginton
  9. Steve Anderson
  10. Zach Naastad
  11. Jeff Hapala
  12. Richard Odegard
  13. Dave Smith
  14. Norm Olson
  15. Bryce Beck
  16. Adam Fischer
  17. George Balcaen
  18. John Halverson
  19. Chris Olson
  20. Josh Johnson
  21. Steffen Snare
  22. Jason Storbakken
  23. Matt Aukland
  24. Tom Corcoran
presented by
Rick Rea/rickrea.com
Bill Mooney celebrates his third career NLRA touring victory.
What won the race: Collecting his first Northern LateModel Racing Assocation victory of the season, polesitter Bill Mooney of Selkirk, Manitoba, led all 25 laps at River Cities Speedway. He took the checkers ahead of fifth-starting Ricky Weiss of Headingly, Manitoba, after Dustin Strand was shuffled out of the second spot in the final laps.
Key notes: Mooney won his third career NLRA event and first since Aug. 17, 2013, at Devil's Lake Speedway in Doyon, N.D. ... Weiss ran second the final two laps. ... Mike Balcaen was third at River Cities after winning Thursday's NLRA event at Red River Co-op Speedway in Winnipeg, Manitoba, the opener of a three-race weekend. ... Jeff Hapala started third and finished 11th in a race with several cautions. ... River Cities hosted its second of three NLRA events; the tour will return for its season finale on Sept. 10.
On the move: Donny Schatz of Fargo, N.D., started 11th and finished fourth in the Late Model feature. He won the night's World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series event.
Winner's sponsors: Mooney's MasterSbilt Race Car by JMR has a Millar Auto Machine Company engine and sponsorship from OMG's, McPhillips Toyota, Emerson Duty Free, Lucas Oil Products, Paintball Paradise, Weed Man, Winnipeg Hearing Centres, Classic Trailers, Curtis Carpets, Maaco, BelleFosh Signs, Pizza Ranch, Future Tint & Stripe, Erickson Motors and Ollie's Auto.
Points chase: Leaving River Cities, Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg, Manitoba, has 1,464 points to lead Dustin Strand (1,442) and Brad Seng (1,420).
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Bill Mooney
Heat race winners: Jeff Hapala, Mike Balcaen, Bill Mooney, Dustin Strand
Consolation race winners: John Halverson
Provisional starters: Tom Corcoran, Adam Fischer
Next series race: September 6, River Cities Speedway (Grand Forks, ND) $1,292
Editor's note: Corrects starting spot of Weiss to fifth sted sixth.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information