Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 18:32:51

Sponsor 743
August 15
Fairbury Speedway,
Fairbury, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (#FALS Fan Frenzy) - $10,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and track reports (last updated August 16, 9:03 am)
Weaver's $10,000 #FALS victory frenzies fans
#FALS Fan Frenzy
  1. Kevin Weaver
  2. Scott Schmitt
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Jason Feger
  5. Scott Bull
  6. McKay Wenger
  7. Brian Shirley
  8. Joe Harlan
  9. Eric Smith
  10. Justin Reed
  11. Bob Gardner
  12. Steve Thorsten
  13. Billy Hough
  14. Daniel Flessner
  15. Torin Mettille
  16. Tim Manville
  17. Derek Chandler
  18. Jay Morris
  19. Rich Bell
  20. Terry Starks
  21. Snooky Dehm
  22. Russ Adams
  23. Ryan Unzicker
  24. Billy Drake
presented by
Jeff Hall/hallracingphotos.smugmug.com
Kevin Weaver notched his first five-figure victory in 13 seasons.
What won the race: Rallying from his 11th starting spot, track favorite Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., took the lead from Scott Schmitt on the 42nd of 50 laps Saturday for a $10,000 victory in the #FALS Fan Frenzy. Weaver notched his third career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory while Schmitt was .778 seconds back as the runner-up.
Key notes: Weaver, the track points leader, notched his first $10,000 victory since 2002's UMP DIRTcar Summernationals victory at Fairbury. ... He has eight FALS victories overall in 2015 and has won five of the last six Late Model features. ... Brian Shirley led 11 laps midway through the race but faded to finish sixth. ... Third-finishing Jimmy Mars led the first lap. ... A dozen drivers went the full 50-lap distance. ... Derek Chandler was running fifth when he retired on the 30th lap. ... Daren Friedman barrel-rolled twice in hot laps; he wasn't hurt but the accident ended his night. ... Fairbury hosted the second-richest ALMS race of the season, a makeup of a May 9 rainout. ... The tour makes its final 2015 appearance at FALS on Sept. 5.
On the move: The winner started 11th; Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., came from 15th to fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Weaver's No. B12 is sponsored by Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwiches, Thomason Express, Jay Morris Trucking & Excavating and Bradbury Auto Sales.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, had 654 points to lead Ryan Unzicker (632) and Rich Bell (581).
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Rich Bell
Time: 12.725 seconds
Polesitter: Scott Schmitt
Heat race winners: Scott Schmitt, Jimmy Mars, Derek Chandler
Next series race: September 4, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Schmitt, Mars
Row 2: Chandler, Thorsten
Row 3: Harlan, Bull
Row 4: Manville, Shirley
Row 5: E. Smith, B. Gardner
Row 6: Weaver, Reed
Row 7: Flessner, Wenger
Row 8: Feger, Adams
Row 9: Bell, Morris
Row 10: Hough, Mettille
Row 11: Starkes, Unzicker
Row 12: Drake, Dehm
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information