Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1278
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 21:37:06

Sponsor 743
August 15
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Clash at the Mountain) - $5,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated August 16, 9:12 am)
Ferguson cruises to Smoky Mountain victory
Clash at the Mountain
  1. Chris Ferguson
  2. Mark Douglas
  3. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  4. Billy Ogle Jr.
  5. Roger Best
  6. Ross White
  7. Kevin Wilson
  8. Doug Sanders
  9. Ray Cook
  10. Dusty Carver
  11. Donald McIntosh
  12. Tommy Kerr
  13. Derek Ellis
  14. Robby Moses
  15. David Crabtree
  16. Jason Croft
  17. Skip Arp
  18. Ben Watkins
  19. Skylar Marlar
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Chris Ferguson (22) works on early leader Derek Ellis (99).
What won the race: Polesitter Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., cruised to his second Carolina Clash victory of the week Saturday at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Ferguson, who inherited the lead when Derek Ellis retired on the ninth lap, pulled away to win by a half-track margin in his $5,000 victory, his third overall in August during his best-ever season.
Key notes: Ferguson has a series-leading four Carolina Clash victories in 2015 and 10 for his career. ... He won for the first time at Smoky Mountain. ... Eight of 19 starters were running at the finish. ... Eighth-starting Ray Cook was up to second when he retired on lap 33. ... Donald McIntosh spun in turn three on lap 23. ... Several early cautions slowed the action, including for Jason Croft (turn-one wall on lap eighth), Billy Ogle Jr. and Tommy Kerr tangling in turn two on the sixth lap, and Ben Watkins hitting the turn-one wall on the fifth lap. ... A bump in turn one seemed to upset some cars getting into the corner. ... The Carolina Clash made its first-ever visit to the historic track. ... While Randy Weaver has dominated special events at the track in 2015, he took the weekend off.
On the move: Jeff Wolfenbarger of Clinton, Tenn., started 10th and had a career-best series finish of third.
Winner's sponsors: Ferguson's family-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Live Oak Family Dentistry, Langley Collision Center, Carver and Sons Roofing, On Site Solutions and Keith's Handyman Service.
Points chase: Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., has a commanding lead over Doug Sanders.
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 15.424 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Consolation race winners: Doug Sanders, Roger Best
Next series race: September 5, Lancaster Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ferguson, Ellis
Row 2: Watkins, Douglas
Row 3: McIntosh, B. Ogle
Row 4: Kerr, Cook
Row 5: Crabtree, Wolfenbarger
Row 6: D. Sanders, Best
Row 7: R. White, Croft
Row 8: S. Marlar, Arp
Row 9: Moses, Carver
Row 10: Wilson

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information