Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/04/2023 00:08:00

Sponsor 743
August 14
I-75 Raceway,
Sweetwater, TN
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated August 15, 8:31 am)
Ownbey notches first Chevy win in Sweetwater
  1. John Ownbey
  2. Ryan King
  3. Riley Hickman
  4. Tim Busha
  5. Cory Hedgecock
  6. Brandon Williams
  7. Ronnie Johnson
  8. Matt Henderson
  9. Adam Martin
  10. Mario Gresham
  11. Tyler Crowder
  12. Brad Coffey
  13. Ross Martin
  14. Rusty Ballenger
  15. Jake Knowles
  16. Billy Ogle Jr.
  17. Jadon Frame
  18. David Brannon
  19. Barry Goodman
  20. Trevor Thompson
  21. Oliver Gentry
  22. Lavon Sparks
  23. Jeff Smith
  24. Pierce McCarter
presented by
Bruce Carroll
John Ownbey earned $3,000 for his first Chevrolet Series victory.
What won the race: Second-starting John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn., overtook Riley Hickman out front on the 13th lap and held off challenges from Tim Busha and Ryan King for his first career Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series victory in the tour's first appearance in Sweetwater, Tenn. He pocketed $3,000 in the 50-lapper.
Quotable: “The Chevrolet Performance CT 525 Engine put down good power, but we just have to do some tweaking on the carburetor to get better restarts,” Ownbey said. “Once we got going, the engine just seemed to keep pulling and pulling. We’re real happy with it, and even happier with the results tonight.”
Key notes: King fell back as far as sixth but rallied late to finish second. ... A caution flew for a three-car tangle on the third lap. ... Pierce McCarter spun on lap six. ... Jeff Smith had a rollover accident on lap six with his car coming to rest on its wheels in the infield to draw a red flag; he was unhurt. ... Jake Knowles pitted to change tires under the caution. ... Another stoppage came on lap 11. ... Lavon Sparks slowed on lap 17; Rusty Ballenger and Jadon Frame spun on the ensuing restart. ... Knowles spun on the 41st lap for the final caution.
On the move: Matt Henderson started 19th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Ownbey's No. 44 Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Auto Depot, JRC Motorsports, Stealth Carburetor and Outlaw Disc Brakes.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., extended his lead with 624 points over Tyler Crowder (614) and Adam Martin (594).
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Riley Hickman
Time: 13.006 seconds
Polesitter: Riley Hickman
Consolation race winners: Mario Gresham, Ross Martin
Provisional starters: Tyler Crowder, Trevor Thompson
Next series race: August 15, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hickman, Ownbey
Row 2: King, Coffey
Row 3: Hedgecock, J. Knowles
Row 4: Williams, Busha
Row 5: Goodman, Ballenger
Row 6: Gresham, R. Martin
Row 7: Johnson, Ogle
Row 8: A. Martin, J. Smith
Row 9: P. McCarter, Frame
Row 10: Henderson, Sparks
Row 11: Brannon, White
Row 12: Crowder, Thompson

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information