Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 10:05:14

Sponsor 743
August 14
Kankakee County Speedway,
Kankakee, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Land of Lincoln 40) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated August 15, 12:47 am)
Shirley beats field, storms in Land of Lincoln 40
Land of Lincoln 40
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Mike Spatola
  5. Jay Morris
  6. Kevin Weaver
  7. Rich Bell
  8. Torin Mettille
  9. Randy Manos Jr.
  10. Scott Schmitt
  11. Herb Reich
  12. Cody Watters
presented by
What won the race: Collecting his first victory of 2015, Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., outran a 12-car field and incoming thunderstorms for a $3,000 Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in the Land of Lincoln 40.
Key notes: Shirley has six career series victories with his last pair coming Aug. 9-10, 2013, at Kankakee and Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway, which welcomes the ALMS tour on Saturday. ... Seven cars were running at the finish. ... Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., finished fourth on the evening before his wedding. ... Kankakee hosted the series on a rare evening where two ALMS races were run. ... Butler Speedway in Quincy, Mich., is also hosted a series event, won by Phil Ausra. ... Kankakee twice had spring events postponed on the ALMS tour.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley's Riggs Motorsports Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and is sponsored by Champion Spark Plugs, Cheap Cars, Grand Rivers Community Bank, Great Clips, Jayco Construction, KBC Graphix, Keyser Mfg., Kid's Castle Learning Center, Kim's Autobody, Peoples National Bank, Perfromance Rod & Custom and Thomason Express.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, had 654 points to lead Ryan Unzicker (632) and Rich Bell (581).
Car count: 12
Polesitter: Torin Mettille
Heat race winners: Torin Mettille, Ryan Unzicker
Next series race: August 15, Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information