Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 18:29:17

Sponsor 743
May 3
Wythe Raceway,
Rural Retreat, VA
Sanction: Fast Unified Engine Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated May 7, 11:50 am)
Davenport grabs FUEL victory at Wythe
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Billy Hicks
  4. Brett Hamm
  5. Ricky Weeks
  6. David Smith
  7. Donald Bradsher
  8. Noel Tucker
  9. Clinton Cook
  10. Ryan Atkins
  11. Teddy Tate
  12. Kenny Van Derveer
  13. Greg Knight
  14. Carson Ferguson
  15. Jason Pack
  16. Kenny Peeples Jr.
  17. Matthew Turner
presented by
Chris Brown
Jonathan Davenport steers the No. 17c toward victory.
What won the race: Driving the No. 17c of his AES Racing boss Steve Cooke, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., overtook polesitter and fellow front-row starter Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., shortly after a mid-race restart and led the rest of the 40-lapper. He stretched away to win by more than five seconds.
Key notes: Davenport is the third winner in three series races. ... Ross Bailes won last week at Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, N.C. ... The race was slowed by a single lap-19 caution; Bailes led the first half of the race but Davenport went ahead just after the restart. ... Eighth-starting Brett Hamm, winner of the first-ever series race at Cherokee, ran as high as third but settled for fourth. ... The first-year tour made its first visit to high-banked half-mile oval.
On the move: Billy Hicks of Mount Airy, N.C., came from his 10th starting spot to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport's Steve Cooke-owned Barry Wright Race Car entry is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas.
Points chase: Bailes had 292 points to lead Hamm's 274 points. Donald Bradsher and Hicks are tied for third with 266 points apiece.
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: David Smith
Time: 17.313 seconds
Polesitter: Ross Bailes
Heat race winners: David Smith, Jonathan Davenport
Next series race: June 14, Harris Motor Speedway (Harris, NC) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728