Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 17:57:44

Sponsor 743
August 8
Lafayette County Speedway,
Darlington, WI
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (Ralph Fryer Memorial) - $5,454
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 9, 8:02 am)
First CBC victory is 800th of Moyer's career
Ralph Fryer Memorial
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Jason Rauen
  4. Mitch McGrath
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Paul Parker
  7. Andy Eckrich
  8. Mark Rose
  9. Travis Denning
  10. Justin Hirt
  11. Spencer Diercks
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Billy Rezutek
  14. Brad Stewart
  15. Toby Kuntzelman
  16. Greg Wagner
  17. Chris Oertel
  18. Mike Fryer
  19. Wayne Brau
  20. Lyle Zanker
  21. Robby Bunkelman
  22. Mike Garland
  23. Denny Eckrich
  24. Skip Frey
  25. Rory Metcalf
  26. Curt Martin
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Billy Moyer was the class of the field at Lafayette County.
What won the race: Winning the 800th feature of his Hall of Fame career, Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., earned $5,454.54 in Lafayette County Speedway's Ralph Fryer Memorial for his first-ever victory on the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series. Points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, and Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, chased Moyer to the checkers in front of a standing-room only crowd.
Key notes: Moyer, who started outside the front row, scored his 800th career triumph one night after being denied the milestone at his native Iowa's Fayette County Speedway when Chad Simpson overtook him for the win. ... Curt Martin had a rollover accident in the second heat, but he climbed out unhurt after the tangle with Rory Metcalf. ... The Ralph Fryer Memorial honored the late engine builder and team owner who was the grandfather of series regular Mike Fryer. ... Ralph Fryer died Jan. 4 at his Freeport, Ill., hometown; he previously fielded cars for Ryan Dolan, Mark Curwin, Craig Jacobs and Tom Hearst, among other drivers. ... The event wrapped up the points season in Lafayette Speedway's other divisions. The Grant County Fair race on Aug. 19, a midweek special, ends the track's season.
On the move: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 11th and finished fifth; Traivs Denning of Sterling, Ill., came from 23rd to ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's Victory Race Car has a Clements Racing Engine and is sponsored by Henderson Motorsports, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Watters Autoland, Karl Performance, Car City, Garnant Family Farms, Sunoco Race Fuels, AMSOIL, McKee Auto/RV, Jack's CarQuest, Ohlins Shocks, Midwest Sheet Metal, Bad Boy Mowers and Eibach Springs.
Points chase: Chad Simpson took command in the points with Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, skipping the weekend action.
Car count: 26
Polesitter: Dave Eckrich
Heat race winners: Dave Eckrich, Mitch McGrath, Chad Simpson, Billy Moyer
Next series race: August 28, Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway (Oshkosh, WI) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Da. Eckrich, Moyer
Row 2: McGrath, Chad Simpson
Row 3: Rauen, Pa. Parker
Row 4: De. Eckrich, Frey
Row 5: Stewart, A. Eckrich
Row 6: Feger, Rose
Row 7: Diercks, Zanker
Row 8: Kuntzelman, Hirt
Row 9: Brau, Metcalf
Row 10: Oertel, Fryer
Row 11: Garland, Wagner
Row 12: Martin, Rezutek
Row 13: Denning
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information