Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 13:39:46

Sponsor 743
August 7
Dog Hollow Speedway,
Strongstown, PA
Sanction: UFO Championship Challenge (Sam Barley Championship) - $3,000
Information provided by: Rich Berry and other reports (last updated August 9, 1:51 pm)
Miley overtakes Rhodes in UFO's Dog Hollow stop
Sam Barley Championship
  1. Jared Miley
  2. Scott Rhodes
  3. Dylan Yoder
  4. Devin Friese
  5. Chad Hollenbeck
  6. Mike Altobelli Jr.
  7. Rick Singleton
  8. Dwayne Taneyhill
  9. Waylon Wagner
  10. Ron Delano Jr.
  11. Dan Angelicchio
  12. Dan Lee
  13. Dan Stone
  14. John Myers
  15. John Weaver
  16. Cody Robbins
  17. Keith Barbara
  18. Quintin Wyandt
  19. Andrew Wylie
  20. Shawn Claar
  21. Mike Mort
  22. Coleby Frye
  23. Mike Blose
  24. Justin Kann
  25. Paul Ivory
presented by
Derek Bobik
Jared Miley (H1) goes past Scott Rhodes en route to victory.
What won the race: Second-starting Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., took the lead from polesitter Scott Rhodes of Somerset, Pa., on the 31st of 41 laps and led the rest of the way for a $3,000 triumph in the UFO Race Championship-sanctioned Sam Barley Championship at Dog Hollow Speedway.
Key notes: With his seventh UFO victory, Miley moved to the top of the tour's all-time wins list. He also won the previous UFO race on July 19 at Dog Hollow. ... Rhodes led laps 1-30. ... The feature was slowed by multiple cautions. ... Starting 14th, Dan Stone ran as high as fourth, but slipped over the turn-two banking on a late-race restart and fell back. ... Joe Petyak's car caught fire after he slammed the turn-four wall during the first heat race; Petyak escaped without injury. ... The fire and cleanup forced a 45-minute delay in the program. ... Friday's race was a tribute to Sam Barley, who owned cars for several drivers including Keith Barbara, Rick Singleton, Johhny Grum. ... Dog Hollow also hosts UFO-sanctioned Late Models on Aug. 29 for the Floyd Kline Klassic and Sept. 24-26 for the ThunderDog Showdown.
On the move: Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., started eighth and finished third; Devin Friese of Chambersburg, Pa., started 11th and advanced to fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Miley's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Brougher Machine Shop, Colussy Chevrolet, FullyInjected.com, Hoosier Racing Tire, Octane Graphix and Schaeffer's Racing Oil.
Points chase: Entering Friday's race, Friese had 549 points to lead Justin Kann (536) and Yoder (531).
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Scott Rhodes
Heat race winners: Justin Kann, Andrew Wylie, Coleby Frye, Keith Barbara
Consolation race winners: Mike Blose
Next series race: September 25, Dog Hollow Speedway (Strongstown, PA) $2,000
Editor's note: Corrects spelling of Octane Graphix in sponsor listing.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information