Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 19:06:04

Sponsor 743
May 3
Screven Motor Speedway,
Sylvania, GA
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: South Georgia Racing and other reports (last updated May 4, 12:21 pm)
Franklin makes it two straight in Longhorn
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Jordy Nipper
  4. Casey Barrow
  5. Kennie Compton Jr.
  6. Johnny Pursley
  7. Gib Gibbons
  8. Doug Blashe
  9. Scott Shirey
  10. Jonathan Edwards
  11. Anthony Sanders
  12. Kyle Pierce
  13. Kevin Wilson
  14. Doug Sanders
  15. Shawn Pritchard
  16. Doug Davis
  17. Trey Shirey
  18. Zack Mitchell
  19. David Dixon
  20. Mike Gault
presented by
What won the race: Third-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., won a late duel with outside front-row starter Brandon Overton to grab his second straight victory in a new Longhorn Chassis, notching his 33rd career Carolina Clash victory. Overton's outside pass with three laps remaining was negated by a caution and he settled for second ahead of polesitter Jordy Nipper of Gray, Ga.
Key notes: Franklin, Overton and Nipper battled much of the race. ... Nipper led the first half of the race with Franklin and Overton overtaking him in traffic. ... Wisconsin driver Doug Blashe was a surprise entrant in finishing eighth. ... Ten of 20 starters completed 40 laps. ... The Carolina Clash made first trip to Screven since 2010's visit by the Clash South tour, a series absorbed by its bigger brother.
On the move: Casey Barrow of Savannah, Ga., picked up four positions to finish fourth and earn Safety-Kleen Hard Charger honors.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Unofficially runner-up Brandon Overton moved into the series points lead with 102 points over Dennis Franklin (91), Kyle Pierce (88), Scott Shirey (88) and Johnny Pursley (86).
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Jordy Nipper
Time: 14.926 seconds
Polesitter: Jordy Nipper
Next series race: May 10, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728