Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/13/2024 23:17:53

Sponsor 743
August 1
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Jimmy Smith Memorial) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 3, 7:50 am)
Watkins grabs second Carolina Clash victory
Jimmy Smith Memorial
  1. Ben Watkins
  2. Scott Autry
  3. Kenny Collins
  4. Shaun Sewell
  5. Scott Shirey
  6. Roger Lucas
  7. Anthony Sanders
  8. Doug Sanders
  9. Keith Jacobs
  10. Shaun Harrell
  11. Michael Rouse
  12. Kevin Wilson
  13. Zack Mitchell
  14. Mike Parker
  15. Lance Brasington
presented by
What won the race: Stretching his series points leader, Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., won at Fayetteville Motor Speedway for the second time in a row, earning $4,000 in the Jimmy Smith Memorial Back to School Bash. Watkins debuted a new Longhorn Chassis and took the checkers two seconds ahead of Scott Autry while Kenny Collins had a career-best third place series finish.
Quotable: "Uncle Larry, Doug, Brian and this whole crew. They put me here," Watkins said. "This car was awesome."
Key notes: Runner-up Scott Autry took the second spot from Kenny Collins late in the race. ... The Carolina Clash returned to action for the first time since June 9. ... The Jimmy Smith Memorial honored the late Georgia American Race Tire distributor, who died July 18. ... In honor of Smith, several sets of American Racer tires were given to teams.
On the move: Hometown driver Roger Lucas started 13th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Watkins drives a Longhorn Chassis sponsored by A-Mobile Truck Storage, Cagle Racing Automotive, Cartersville Country Winery, Heintz Bros. Performance and Sandwood Racing.
Points chase: Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., has 986 points to lead Doug Sanders (849) and Kevin Wilson (799).
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Time: 17.478 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Consolation race winners: Doug Sanders
Editor's note: Corrects winner's car to Longhorn sted Rocket.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information