Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/08/2023 16:39:03

Sponsor 743
July 27
Modoc Raceway,
Modoc, SC
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $3,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 28, 6:18 am)
Rambo wins second straight on Southern Nat'ls
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Casey Roberts
  3. Ross Bailes
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Anthony Sanders
  6. Kelly Guy
  7. Brian Connor
  8. Kenny Collins
  9. Brandon Carpenter
  10. Casey Barrow
  11. Gib Gibbons
  12. Richie Corley
  13. Brent Dixon
  14. Mark Whitener
  15. Scott Shirey
  16. Michael Akeson
  17. Justin Sims
  18. Jim Manka
  19. Rob Mayea
presented by
Glen Starek
Dennis Franklin is the first two-time Southern Nationals winner.
What won the race: Battling dusty conditions, polesitter Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., led all 35 laps, topping third-starting Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., by 1.138 seconds for $3,500 and his second consecutive victory on the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series.
Quotable: "I didn't want to get out there too far and get in that lapped traffic. It was pretty hectic tonight," Franklin said. "I know Casey (Roberts) was right there on the back door. They kept signalling me to just stay low. I didn't want to get up there and race with those other guys because it was just too dusty, and I didn't (want) to take no chances."
Key notes: Franklin became the tour's first repeat winner in 2015. He also won Saturday at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga. ... Franklin thanked young crew members, including his nephew. ... The 35-lap feature was slowed by six cautions, all for single-car stoppages or spins by Rob Mayea, Jim Manka, Mark Whitener, Richie Corley, Gib Gibbons and Brandon Carpenter. ... Nine drivers completed 35 laps. ... Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., entered Monday tied for the Southern Nationals points lead, but he was not among entrants at Modoc. ... The race made up a July 23 rainout. ... Prior to Monday's event, the tour announced that Sunday's rainout at Rome (Ga.) Speedway will not be made up.
On the move: Casey Barrow of Savannah, Ga., started 16th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties, Hoosier Racing Tire and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Entering Monday's action, Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., and Ogle were knotted atop the standings with 831 points apiece; Roberts was third at 821.
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Dennis Franklin
Time: 16.051 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Dash winner: Dennis Franklin
Next series race: July 28, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $3,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Franklin, Bailes
Row 2: Roberts, Dixon
Row 3: Guy, McIntosh
Row 4: Sanders, Corley
Row 5: Collins, Carpenter
Row 6: Gibbons, Connor
Row 7: Mayea, Whitener
Row 8: Manka, Barrow
Row 9: Shirey, Akeson
Row 10: Sims

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information