Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/02/2023 14:42:38

Sponsor 743
July 24
Swainsboro Raceway,
Swainsboro, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $5,300
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 25, 3:08 pm)
Roberts wins in wee hours at Swainsboro
  1. Casey Roberts
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Ross Bailes
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  6. Craig Vosbergen
  7. Billy Ogle Jr.
  8. Kenny Collins
  9. Brent Dixon
  10. Austin Smith
  11. Kelly Guy
  12. Scott Shirey
  13. Johnny Pursley
  14. Mark Dotson
  15. Mark Whitener
  16. Vic Hill
  17. Brandon Carpenter
  18. Casey Barrow
  19. Steven Roberts
  20. Ashton Winger
  21. Stacy Boles
  22. Mack McCarter
presented by
Glen Starek
A crowd joined Casey Roberts in victory lane at Swainsboro Speedway.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Casey Roberts captured his ninth career Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals on Friday at Swainsboro Speedway, leading all 53 laps for a $5,300 payday. A rain shower that hit just before hot laps delayed the program with Roberts taking the checkers near 3 a.m. Dennis Franklin finished nearly a full second behind in second.
Quotable: "I'd like the fans for coming out and staying with 'em there. I know the rain held 'em up for a while there ..." said Roberts, a three-time series winner at Swainsboro. "This place has been good to me."
Key notes: Roberts is tied for second on the tour's all-time victories lead with Jonathan Davenport (nine victories apiece). ... Series points leader Donald McIntosh started on the pole and finished fourth, losing a spot to Ross Bailes on the final lap. ... McIntosh lowered the track record in time trials. ... Four cautions slowed the action. ... Mark Whitener went over the banking in turn one. ... Steven Roberts, Mack McCarter and Stacy Boles were part of an early pileup. ... Ashton Winger spun on lap 11. ... Vic Hill and Brandon Carpenter tangled o lap 21. ... Swainsboro hosted the series for the seventh time.
On the move: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., started sixth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Roberts drives a Cushman Motorsports Longhorn Chassis powered by a Custom Race Engine and sponsored by Cushman Paint & Body, M&S Concrete, Allstar Performance, Schaeffer's Racing Oil, VP Racing Fuel and Hoosier Racing Tire.
Points chase: Exiting Swainsboro, Donald McIntosh (663) leads Billy Ogle Jr. (653) and Casey Roberts (651).
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 13.832 seconds
Polesitter: Donald McIntosh
Consolation race winners: Stacy Boles
Next series race: July 25, Screven Motor Speedway (Sylvania, GA) $5,300
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information