Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 06:31:15

Sponsor 743
May 2
Batesville Motor Speedway,
Locust Grove, AR
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Ozark Nationals) - $2,500
Information provided by: Roby Helm (last updated May 3, 11:22 am)
R.J. drives Hickman's car to first Batesville win
Ozark Nationals
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. Mack McCarter
  3. Justin McRee
  4. Ashley Newman
  5. Gavin Landers
  6. Johnny Stokes
  7. Chandler Petty
  8. Walker Arthur
  9. Josh Adkins
  10. Brent Barrett
  11. Chase Washington
  12. Shawn Knuckles
  13. Chris Noah
  14. Casey Findley
  15. Tait Davenport
  16. Ronald Dunn
  17. Travis Ashley
  18. Cody Kierre
  19. Caleb Myers
  20. Marcus Minga
  21. Michael Blount
  22. Roger Witt
  23. Robby Moore
  24. Montana Dudley
presented by
Carl Richardson
Ronnie Johnson drove Riley Hickman's car to victory at Batesville.
What won the race: Driving buddy Riley Hickman's car, Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., took the lead from hometown driver Gavin Landers on lap 27 after a side-by-side battle and never looked back for his 18th career victory on the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series. Landers slipped to fifth at the finish after getting together with runner-up Mack McCarter on the final lap.
Quotable: “I’ve run a lot of races here at Batesville Motor Speedway with the Hav-A-Tampa Series and in the Topless 100, but I’ve never won here, and that’s something I’ve always wanted to do,” Johnson said. “I want to thank Riley Hickman for letting me bring his car out here this weekend. I was struggling to get my 5 car together, and Riley came by and said here is mine, it’s ready to go, so we loaded it up and we were ready to go.”
Key notes: Outside front-row starter Gavin Landers led laps 2-26 and held second until contact with Mack McCafter coming to the checkers sent him spinning; he backed across the finish line in fifth. ... Fast qualifier and polesitter Montana Dudley of Phenix City, Ala., led the first lap, but a flat right-rear tire on the second lap left him against the turn-one wall; he picked up the Dominator Race Products Hard Luck award after being the only driver below 14 seconds in time trials. ... Series competitors go back at it Saturday at Batesville. ... McCizer Pipeline is the weekend's presenting sponsor.
On the move: Consolation race winner Ashley Newman of Ripley, Tenn., came from his 12th starting spot to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson drove Riley Hickman's CVR Race Car sponsored by American Billet, Austin Trucking, Hickman Mfg., Competition Racing Eaiupment and RH Designs.
Points chase: Walker Arthur, who finished eighth leads with 456 points, but Ronnie Johnson (436) vaulted into the second spot ahead of Mack McCarter (434) and Josh Adkins (430).
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Montana Dudley
Time: 13.798 seconds
Consolation race winners: Chase Washington, Ashley Newman
Provisional starters: Ronald Dunn, Roger Witt
Next series race: May 3, Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, AR) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728