Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/04/2023 00:04:15

Sponsor 743
July 11
Whynot Motorsports Park,
Meridian, MS
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 12, 1:53 pm)
Cliburn is Chevy Tour's third straight first-timer
  1. Jason Cliburn
  2. Mike Boland
  3. Tim Busha
  4. Tyler Crowder
  5. Jake Knowles
  6. Johnny Stokes
  7. Brandon Williams
  8. Mario Gresham
  9. Jadon Frame
  10. Adam Martin
  11. Tim Dees
  12. Frank Wilson
  13. Trevor Thompson
  14. Tody Ratcliff
  15. Dillon Tidmore
  16. Ryan King
  17. Tony Thompson
  18. Ronnie Johnson
  19. Ross Martin
  20. Josh Johnson
  21. Barry Goodman
presented by
Brian McLeod/NeSmith Media
Jason Cliburn heads to victory at Whynot Motorsports Park.
What won the race: Marching forward from the 11th starting position, Jason Cliburn of Star, Miss., led the final 17 laps Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park to become the third straight winner on the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series. He earned $3,000 in taking the checkers ahead of Alabama drivers Mike Boland and Tim Busha.
Quotable: “The track surface was getting there, and had started to get pretty slick," Cliburn said. "I tried to be patient and watch the scoreboard, because this isn’t like Super Late Model racing where you can get spread out, and then make up the ground real quick. You can’t wait too long with this type racing, or they’ll be on ya before you know it.”
Key notes: Polesitter Ronnie Johnson spun while leading the 13th lap when he broke a inner heim joint on his car’s left-front lower control arm. ... Tyler Crowder led laps 13-22 and 27-29. ... Johnny Stokes, driving Brent Barrett's car, led laps 23-26 and 30-33. ... The race had four leaders with five lead changes. ... The tour is primarily for cars utlizing Chevrolet CT 525 powerplants. ... Randy Boyd won the evening's NeSmith Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: The winner started 11th; Boland came from 17th to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Cliburn's No. 888 is powered by a GM 604 powerplant and sponsored by Cliburn Tank Lines, RCO Inc., KB Performance, Mac Tools, S&S and Xtreme Graphics.
Points chase: Tim Busha moved into the series lead by six points over Johnson, who was able to make repairs and return to the race; he completed 28 laps.
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Ronnie Johnson
Time: 13.092 seconds
Next series race: July 17, Penton Raceway (Penton, AL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information