Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 02:59:49

Sponsor 743
July 8
Independence Motor Speedway,
Independence, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and series reports (last updated July 9, 6:55 am)
Kay charges to $3,000 victory at Independence
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Jeff Aikey
  3. Ryan Dolan
  4. Rick Wendling
  5. Scott Fitzpatrick
  6. Tyler Bruening
  7. Tyler Droste
  8. Richie Gustin
  9. Brunson Behning
  10. Rob Moss
  11. Joe Zrostlik
  12. Andy Nezworski
  13. Andy Eckrich
  14. Jay Johnson
  15. John Emerson
  16. Jon Merfeld
  17. Jeremy Grady
  18. Bobby Hansen
  19. Jon Passick
  20. Todd Malmstrom
  21. Sean Johnson
  22. Curt Martin
  23. Kyle Hinrichs
  24. Brian Hunter
presented by
Jim Wittke
Justin Kay posted his 13th careery Deery Brothers tour victory.
What won the race: Charging from the eighth-place starting spot and leading by as much as a straightaway's distance, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, captured a $3,000 IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series victory at Independence Motor Speedway. Kay finished with a two-lapped car cushion on Jeff Aikey and Ryan Doland, who led most of the first half of the 40-lapper.
Quotable: “I was a little disappointed after last night,” said Kay, who was a half-length behind winner Brian Harris on Tuesday at West Liberty. “I pushed as hard as I could. When you have Jeff Aikey and Ryan Dolan behind you, you have to do that.”
Key notes: Kay has 13 career Deery Bros. Summer Series victories, four on the 2015 season. He last came at Jackson County Speedway on June 9. ... Kay was also the winner of the series last stop at Independence in 2013. ... The only caution was for a three-car tangle on lap 23, two laps after Kay took command. ... Todd Malmstrom was 20th after going above and beyond just to get to the track: Involved in a Moline, Ill., traffic accident that totaled his tow vehicle and sent crew member Jim Irwin to the hospital, Malmstrom borrowed a pickup from a friend to complete the trip to Indee despite bumps and bruises.
On the move: Tyler Droste of Waterloo, Iowa, rallied from the 16th starting position to finish seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt from Gheer'd Up Race Cars is sponsored by Doug Nigh's RPM's, Dow, Heinee Jo's, Hoker Trucking, Ideal Ready Mix, J.R.'s Place, Kay Automotive Distributing Corp., Kay Farms & Elevator, Kay & Sons Trucking, Mycogen Seeds, Peterson Insurance, Wehrs Machine and Wheatland Auto Body.
Points chase: Kay moved into the series points lead over Andy Nezworski, who was tied atop the standings entering the race but finished seventh.
Car count: 36
Polesitter: Brian Hunter
Heat race winners: Ryan Dolan, Jeff Aikey, Brian Hunter, Rick Wendling
Consolation race winners: Jay Johnson, Richie Gustin
Provisional starters: Todd Malmstrom, Jeremy Grady, John Emerson, Andy Eckrich
Next series race: July 12, Dubuque Speedway (Dubuque, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information