Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/08/2023 16:35:25

Sponsor 743
July 4
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Freedom Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 5, 9:19 am)
Stovall completes $8,000 Salina Highbanks sweep
Freedom Classic
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Tommy Weder Jr.
  5. Jake O'Neil
  6. Jeremy Payne
  7. Jack Sullivan
  8. Terry Phillips
  9. Randy Timms
  10. Brantlee Gotschall
  11. Jason O'Brien
  12. J.C. Wyman
  13. R.C. Whitwell
  14. Justin Asplin
  15. Kyle Beard
  16. Jason Utter
  17. Jeff Roth
  18. Leroy Johnson
  19. Jacob Magee
  20. Randy Roth
  21. Stacy Taylor
  22. Ryan Gustin
  23. Jason Hughes
  24. Brandon McCormick
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Jesse Stovall steers toward Saturday's $5,000 victory in Salina, Okla.
What won the race: Notching his 12th victory of the season, Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., won Saturday night's 40-lap feature from outside the front row to sweep the weekend's MARS-MLRA action at Salina Highbanks Speedway. Stovall added the $5,000 victory to Friday's $3,000 payday at the high-speed oval, taking the checkers ahead of polesitter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa.
Quotable: "There's no words for it. We've had some pretty good luck on our side. Chad (Simpson) probably had the preferred line there and slipped up a little bit," Stovall said. "The rubber (strip) came there and he probably didn't know exactly where it was yet. I slipped by him. He's a helluva racer and them guys always race you clean."
Key notes: Among the casualties in the event were 12th-starter Jason Hughes (out after 17 laps) and ninth-starter Ryan Gustin (retired after 28 laps). ... Friday's runner-up, Jason Utter, couldn't duplicate his opening-night effort. He qualified through a B-Main and finished the feature one lap down in 16th place. ... The feature race rolled about 10:20 p.m. ... The Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association co-sanctioned the weekend with the MARS DIRTcar Series. ... Salina runs a weekly Grand National division for Limited Late Model-type cars. ... The track will host a similar weekend Sept. 25-26 (with only MARS sanctioning).
On the move: Randy Timms of Wheatland, Okla., advanced from the 14th starting spot to finish ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall's winning Black Diamond Chassis has a Scott Bailey Engine with sponsorship from Hoosier Racing Tire, Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, Midwest Sheet Metal, Rushin Towing, Scott Bailey and Swafford's Service.
Points chase: Exiting Salina, Tony Jackson Jr. had an 40-point edge over Justin Asplin atop the MARS standings; Terry Phillips tops the MLRA table.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Jesse Stovall, Chad Simpson, Tommy Weder Jr., Jake O'Neil
Consolation race winners: Jason Utter, Jacob Magee
Provisional starters: Justin Asplin, Brandon McCormick, Leroy Johnson, Randy Roth
Next series race: July 25, Springfield Raceway (Springfield, MO) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chad Simpson, Stovall
Row 2: Jackson, Weder
Row 3: O'Neil, O'Brien
Row 4: Payne, Sullivan
Row 5: Gustin, Phillips
Row 6: Gotschall, Hughes
Row 7: Whitwell, Timms
Row 8: Taylor, Wyman
Row 9: Utter, Magee
Row 10: Beard, J. Roth
Row 11: Asplin, McCormick
Row 12: Johnson, Roth

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information