Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/03/2023 22:24:39

Sponsor 743
July 2
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Salute of America Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 3, 12:47 pm)
Hickman wins from pole in tripleheader opener
Salute of America Nationals
  1. Riley Hickman
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Cruz Skinner
  4. Josh Adkins
  5. Eric Cooley
  6. Joe Noojin
  7. Matt Henderson
  8. Chip Brindle
  9. Adam Cummings
  10. Forrest Trent
  11. Will Roland
  12. Cody Martin
  13. Mike Boland
  14. Ryan Crane
  15. Cole Daffron
  16. Chase Edge
  17. Oliver Gentry
  18. Jamey Boland
  19. Marcus Minga
  20. Adam Gauldin
  21. Jimmy Thomas
  22. Larry Harrod
  23. Ryan King
  24. Michael Arnold
presented by
Brian McLeod/NeSmith Racing
Riley Hickman drove the CVR house car to victory at Talladega.
What won the race: Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., led all 40 laps from the pole Thursday at Talladega Short Track to open the NeSmith tour's holiday tripleheader in Alabama. Points leader Ronnie Johnson was second followed by 13-year-old local phenom Cruz Skinner.
Quotable: “This is Chip Vineyard’s house at CVR Race Cars, and they just had a perfect setup tonight,” Hickman said. “These (NeSmith) races are never easy to win, but having a race car like I had tonight makes it a little harder for the competition to catch you.”
Key notes: Fourteen of 24 starters finished on the lead lap. ... Ryan King was eliminated in early accident; he was battling for third when he hit the wall exiting turn four, triggering a multicar pileup. ... Larry Harrod spun on the seventh lap. ... Michael Arnold spun on lap 22 and was disqualified when he retaliated against Matt Henderson. ... The Salute to America Nationals is made up of three straight nights of Crate Late Model series action at Alabama tracks (Penton Raceway and East Alabama Motor Speedway to follow). ... Skinner leads Talladega's weekly Crate division in points.
On the move: Josh Adkins started eighth and finished fourth; Cody Martin started 22nd and finished 12th to earn Beyea Headers Hard Charger honors.
Winner's sponsors: Hickman's CVR Race Car house car is sponsored by Chattanooga Valley Auto Parts and En Compass Solutions.
Points chase: Entering the event, Johnson had 932 points to lead Chase Edge (860) and King (838).
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Riley Hickman
Time: 15.132 seconds
Polesitter: Riley Hickman
Consolation race winners: Joe Noojin, Jimmy Thomas, Will Roland
Next series race: July 3, Penton Raceway (Penton, AL) $2,000
Editor's note: Fixes Hickman's sponsors; adds Arnold disqualification.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information