Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/03/2023 22:48:23

Sponsor 743
July 2
Monett Motor Speedway,
Monett, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (John Kuntz Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Lyndal Scranton, Ron Mitchell and series reports (last updated July 3, 12:48 pm)
In Late Model return, Hughes wins Monett
John Kuntz Memorial
  1. Jason Hughes
  2. Justin Asplin
  3. Terry Phillips
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Brandon McCormick
  6. Jason O'Brien
  7. Jacob Magee
  8. Dustin Mooneyham
  9. Jeff Roth
  10. Jon Driskill
  11. Steve Johnson
  12. Randy Roth
  13. Leroy Johnson
  14. Jesse Stovall
  15. Brantlee Gotschall
  16. Tommy Weder Jr.
  17. Brandon Cheek
  18. Justin Wells
  19. Garrett Murrell
  20. Cole Wells
  21. Dillon Rupe
  22. Leslie Essary
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Jason Hughes heads to his first career victory on the MARS circuit.
What won the race: Winning his first Super Late Model start of 2015, polesitter Jason Hughes of Westville, Okla., earned his first career MARS DIRTcar Series victory in the ninth annual John Kuntz Memorial. He pocketed $3,000 in taking the checkers ahead of Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., and Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.
Quotable: "We just talked to (fellow Oklahoma driver Tommy Weder Jr.) a little bit. We'd planned on doing a little bit (of Late Model racing) this year. ..." said Hughes, a modified ace and last year's Lucas Oil Series Rookie of the year. "They brought (the Late Models over) Monday, I think it was, and we got 'em out and went through things. He came over today and we came up and raced. We're going to do some swapping on our race cars. He's going to run my car at the World Modified deal in Deer Creek, so we can both have a little bit of fun and something different."
Key notes: After spending 2014 on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series with Rowland Racing, Hughes has returned to modifieds this season and made his first full-fendered start at Monett. ... Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., slipped over the turn-two banking while challenging Hughes in the second half of the race. ... Red-hot Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., suffered an early flat tire, but rallied back to second before briefly sliding over the backstretch while running second; he retired a few laps later after getting over the banking again. ... The race paid tribute to the founder of Andy's Frozen Custard, a series sponsor and long-time supporter of auto racing.
On the move: Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, Mo., advanced from 13th to fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes piloted the No. 02 normally driven by Tommy Weder Jr. of Woodward, Okla., which is sponsored by Tara Apartments, Edge Services and New Vision Graphics.
Points chase: Jackson exits Monett with 772 points to lead Asplin (734) and McCormick (651).
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Jason Hughes
Heat race winners: Justin Asplin, Brantlee Gotschall, Jason Hughes, Tony Jackson Jr.
Consolation race winners: Cole Wells
Next series race: July 3, Salina Highbanks Speedway (Salina, OK) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information