Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 05:29:10

Sponsor 743
June 26
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Alphabet Soup Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 27, 9:18 am)
Berck grabs victory in Alphabet Soup Classic
Alphabet Soup Classic
  1. Kyle Berck
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Tad Pospisil
  5. Terry Phillips
  6. Jason Utter
  7. Tony Jackson Jr.
  8. Brandon McCormick
  9. Corey Zeitner
  10. Jake O'Neil
  11. Ryan Gustin
  12. Justin Asplin
  13. Mike Collins
  14. Dave Eckrich
  15. Austin Siebert
  16. Jason O'Brien
  17. Jeff Roth
  18. Brian Schutt
  19. Mike Wiarda
  20. R.C. Whitwell
  21. Jeremy Payne
  22. Bill Leighton Jr.
  23. Chris Simpson
  24. Ben Schaller
  25. Mark Rose
  26. Spencer Diercks
  27. J.C. Wyman
  28. Mike Stadel
presented by
Todd Boyd
Kyle Berck gives the thumbs up in victory lane at I-80 Speedway.
What won the race: Taking command from race-long leader R.C. Whitwell after an early restart, outside-front row starter Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., outran Chad Simpson and Jesse Stovall in the 14th annual Alphabet Soup Classic at I-80 Speedway. Berck earned $3,000.
Quotable: "In all honesty, I really thought I had the dominant car," Berck said. "And that's maybe trying to be a little bit overconfident, but we haven't won a big show in a while. The car was excellent in the heat race. I wasn't waiting on (Whitwell), but he was really good around the bottom, and I wasn't that good around the bottom. ... But I really felt the race was going to come to us like it did."
Key notes: Berck snapped an almost three-year winless streak with the MLRA series; the event was co-sanctioned with the Corn Belt Clash and MARS DIRTcar Series. ... Whitwell was running fourth when he spun in turn one shortly after losing the lead, collecting Jeremy Payne. ... With his victory, Berck earned a guaranteed a provisional starting spot in July's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80. ... The trio of tours moves to Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa, on Saturday for a $5,000-to-win program.
On the move: Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., started 10th and finished third; Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb. rallied from 18th to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Berck's No. 14 Longhorn Chassis has a Scott Bailey Engine (Chevrolet) and sponsorship from Aurora Agronomy, Bossleman Oil, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Truck Center, JRi Shocks, Kaser Blasting & Coatings, Precision Suspension, Red Line Oil, Steven's Buffalo Meats and Hunts, Strobel Manufacturing and Wegner Automotive Research.
Points chase: Entering Friday Jason Utter (CBC), Tony Jackson Jr. (MARS) and Terry Phillips (MLRA) led series standings.
Car count: 38
Polesitter: R.C. Whitwell
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Terry Phillips, Mike Stadel, Jason Utter
Consolation race winners: Chris Simpson, Tad Pospisil
Provisional starters: Justin Asplin, Mark Rose, Bill Leighton Jr., Austin Siebert, Jason O'Brien, Ben Schaller
Next series race: June 27, Adams County Speedway (Corning, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Fixes Berck's chassis manufacturer.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information