Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 10:35:38

Sponsor 743
June 25
Park Jefferson Int'l Speedway,
Jefferson, SD
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (Mark Lloyd Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Todd Boyd, series and track reports (last updated June 26, 10:20 am)
Stovall stays hot with victory at Park Jefferson
Mark Lloyd Memorial
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Terry Phillips
  4. Ryan Gustin
  5. Jason Utter
  6. Tad Pospisil
  7. Justin Asplin
  8. J.C. Wyman
  9. Jason O'Brien
  10. Tony Jackson Jr.
  11. Corey Zeitner
  12. Denny Eckrich
  13. Brian Schutt
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Dave Eckrich
  16. Mike Benson
  17. Ben Sukup
  18. Jeremy Payne
  19. Jordan Heiman
  20. Mark Rose
  21. Randy Roth
  22. Kyle Nordquist
  23. Junior Coover
  24. Mike Stadel
  25. Chris Simpson
  26. Brandon McCormick
presented by
Todd Boyd
Jesse Stovall enjoys victory lane at Park Jefferson in Jefferson, S.D.
What won the race: Bringing his spring hot streak into summer, Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., captured Thursday's Mark Lloyd Memorial at Park Jefferson International Speedway for a $3,000 victory co-sanctioned by MARS and the Corn Belt Clash. Stovall led all the way from outside the front row and took the checkers ahead of Chad Simpson and polesitter Terry Phillips at the 4/10-mile oval.
Quotable: "Clean air was really important. I ran really good until I got (into) those lapped cars, and it seemed like they closed the gap back up on me a little bit ... all in all, it was just a great night," Stovall said. "I'm glad to be back in South Dakota. Like I said, I told everybody here I feel at home, and this place is a lot of fun."
Key notes: Stovall won his second straight at Park Jefferson; he won May 30 in a Corn Belt Clash-MLRA event. ... In prelims, Chris Simpson suffered burns on his right knee from a cockpit fire while leading a heat race. A fuel line's friction with a wire triggered the fire and he quickly bailed out of the car. ... Spraying pain reliever on his knee, Simpson was helping prepare a backup car for Friday's racing at I-80 Speedway. ... The inaugural Mark Lloyd Memorial honored the man who spearheaded the track's reopening. He died in January at age 47 from pancreatic cancer.
On the move: Chad Simpson started sixth and finished second; Ryan Gustin started 14th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall's Black Diamond Chassis is sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tire, Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, Midwest Sheet Metal, Rushin Towing, Scott Bailey and Swafford's Service.
Points chase: Entering the race, Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa, was the Corn Belt Clash points leader and Tony Jackson Jr. was the MARS points leader.
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Terry Phillips
Heat race winners: Justin Asplin, Jesse Stovall, Jason O'Brien
Next series race: June 26, I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Phillips, Stovall
Row 2: Pospisil, Asplin
Row 3: O'Brien, Chad Simpson
Row 4: Jackson, Utter
Row 5: Payne, De. Eckrich
Row 6: Da. Eckrich, Heiman
Row 7: Nordquist, Gustin
Row 8: Wyman, C. Zeitner
Row 9: Rose, Stadel
Row 10: J. Roth, Coover
Row 11: Schutt, R. Roth
Row 12: Benson, McCormick
Row 13: Chris Simpson, Sukup

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information