Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 20:02:29

Sponsor 743
April 26
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Rockin' the Stars 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and other reports (last updated April 28, 4:00 pm)
Ogle goes flag-to-flag at Smoky Mountain
Rockin' the Stars 40
  1. Billy Ogle Jr.
  2. Mike Marlar
  3. Ray Cook
  4. Riley Hickman
  5. Dylan Ames
  6. Chad Ogle
  7. David Payne
  8. Mark Douglas
  9. Josh Putnam
  10. Todd Morrow
  11. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  12. Bo Shirley
  13. Robby Moses
  14. Jeff Franklin
  15. Sammie Russell
  16. Dusty Carver
  17. Lavon Sparks
  18. Randy Weaver
  19. Skylar Marlar
  20. Skip Arp
  21. Stacy Boles
  22. Jason Welshan
  23. Chris Wilson
  24. Tommy Kerr
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Billy Ogle Jr. waves from victory lane at Smoky Mountain Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., led all the way, holding off a charge by ninth-starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., by .802 seconds. Third-place Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.c., who lost second place with two laps remaining, blew a tire near the finish and was the only other driver within 10 seconds of the lead duo at the finish.
Key notes: Ogle collected his 12th career series victory. ... A lack of tear-offs caused him vision problems down the stretch, but he managed to make it to the finish. ... Ogle had three series victories last year; his previous win came Sept. 1 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. ... Three cautions slowed the action in the 40-lapper, including an incident on the start when Tommy Kerr got on his lid after a scramble with Josh Putnam; Kerr was OK, but paid Putnam a visit after climbing from his car. ... A lap-13 yellow appeared for Lavon Sparks and Randy Weaver slowed for a lap-14 caution. ... Third-place finisher Ray Cook, driver of the MasterSbilt house car that recently fell off the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the first time in six seasons, fielded his Tommy Pope-owned No. 53 MasterSbilt. ... Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., Lucas Oil's top rookie contender, was at Smoky Mountain after hedging his bets with the weather forecast; indeed, both Lucas Oil events rained out for the weekend and he plans to remain on the national tour. ... WIMZ was the event's sponsor.
Winner's sponsors: Ogle drives a Blount Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine with sponsorship from Arnold Trucking, Bearden Oil Company, Blount Excavating, Cherokee Millwright & Mechanical, GEOServices, Massey Electric, Matlock Decal Company and Stowers (CAT) Machinery Corp.
Points chase: Fourth-finishing Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., holds onto the series points lead with 288; his closest pursuer in the points, Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., did not enter Saturday's event, and Dylan Ames (240) moved into the second spot followed by Bo Shirley and Josh Putnam (both with 232).
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Billy Ogle Jr.
Time: 15.885 seconds
Polesitter: Billy Ogle Jr.
Consolation race winners: Mike Marlar, Skip Arp
Provisional starters: Jason Welshan, Chris Wilson
Next series race: May 3, Talladega Short Track (Eastaboga, AL) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728