Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 01:04:25

Sponsor 743
June 20
Springfield Raceway,
Springfield, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 21, 9:54 am)
In right place, Rupe wins first MARS event
  1. Dillon Rupe
  2. Justin Asplin
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Brantlee Gotschall
  5. Brian Schutt
  6. Brandon McCormick
  7. Garrett Essary
  8. Dewayne Kiefer
  9. Jon Driskill
  10. Tony Jackson Jr.
  11. Randy Roth
  12. Dustin Mooneyham
  13. Jeff Roth
  14. Trace Westling
  15. Leroy Johnson
  16. Jeremy Payne
  17. Shane Essary
  18. Alan Westling
  19. Jacob Magee
  20. Payton Looney
  21. Jake Davis
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Dillon Rupe led the final 10 laps at Springfield on the MARS circuit.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead with 10 circuits remaining in the 35-lap feature after the three cars ahead of him ran into trouble, Dillon Rupe of Broken Arrow, Okla., captured his first-ever MARS DIRTcar Series victory. Rupe was running fourth on lap 25 when leaders Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., and Shane Essary of Aurora, Mo., tangled and spun and third-place Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., headed pitside, vaulting Rupe into a lead he would never relinquish.
Quotable: "I can't even begin to express how excited we are. I've never even finished in the top 10 in a MARS show," Rupe said. "I was just going to play it cool, try to keep the car straight for the first 20 laps or so and not wear out my tires too bad or anything. I probably didn't have the fastest race car tonight, but I got help with the lapped traffic (and) crash, so all in all, it worked out."
Key notes: Rupe's breakthrough MARS triumph came one week after he returned from a month away from competition because of motor problems and rain. ... Race-long leader Jeremy Payne and Shane Essary made slight door-to-door contact in turn three the lap before Essary's right-front wheel climbed the left-rear wheel of Payne on the backstretch, spinning Payne's car up the track and leaving Essary with heavy nosepiece damage. ... Several early cautions slowed the action. ... Payton Looney ran among the top five but retired before a mid-race restart.
On the move: Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., started 10th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Rupe's Trak-Star Race Car carries sponsorship from A&N Trailer Parts Inc., DRP, Racenote, Super Lawn and U-Save Machine Shop.
Points chase: Despite his misfortune Saturday, Jackson ended the night with a 33-point lead (549-516) over Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo.
Car count: 21
Heat race winners: Brian Schutt, Jeremy Payne, Shane Essary
Next series race: June 25, Park Jefferson Int'l Speedway (Jefferson, SD) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information