Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 05:49:39

Sponsor 743
April 26
Modoc Raceway,
Modoc, SC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Jack Starrette Memorial) - $5,022
Information provided by: Gene Murphy and series reports (last updated April 27, 4:58 pm)
Franklin scores repeat at Starrette Memorial
Jack Starrette Memorial
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. G.R. Smith
  4. Jeff Smith
  5. Johnny Pursley
  6. Jonathan Edwards
  7. Luke Roffers
  8. Dean Bowen
  9. Brian Ledbetter
  10. Frank Coates
  11. Doug Davis
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Jordy Nipper
  14. Casey Barrow
  15. Casey Roberts
  16. Zack Mitchell
  17. Brent Dixon
  18. Steve Shaver
  19. Anthony Sanders
  20. Kelly Guy
  21. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  22. Kenny Collins
  23. Benji Cole
  24. Kevin Godwin
presented by
Glen Starek
Dennis "Rambo" Franklin won the Jack Starrette Memorial.
What won the race: Debuting a new Longhorn Chassis, polesitter Dennis "Rambo" Franklin repeated his victory in the Jack Starrette Memorial for his second career series victory.
Quotable: “It’s been bad at my side of the place (AES Racing). We had a good run in the crate car and that is the only good run we have had all year. I’ve just been struggling, struggling. I had to do something different. I have driven for Barry (Wright) for a long time and I hated to leave him, but I felt in my heart I had to do something to suit me,” Franklin said. “(AES teammate Jonathan) Davenport has just made it look real easy. I know where he has been coming from now. It’s unbelievable how good this thing drives. Longhorn has just got a good thing going right now. I’m going to ride it out and see where it takes us. Hopefully, it gets us completely turned around where I need to be.”
Key notes: Fourth-starting Brandon Overton finished second in his Club 29 entry. ... Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala., Fla., was a solid threat early, but was forced pitside after just eight laps with overheating issues. ... Zack Mitchell was running fourth in the middle stages of the 50-lapper when his car suffered a broken axle. ... The event drew a huge crowd in the grandstands and backstretch parking. ... Only seven drivers completed 50 laps. ... Lloyd picked up $500 from M&S Concrete, Augusta Delivery Service and Town & Country Packing in the Dash for Cash. ... The event honored the long-time car owner and sponsor whose generosity was legendary. ... The event marked the tour's season opener after a March visit to Lavonia (Ga.) Speedway was scrapped by bad weather.
On the move: Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., came from his 19th starting spot to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Defending Ultimate Champion Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., struggled to a 15th-place finish.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Dennis Franklin
Time: 16.033 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Dash winner: Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
Next series race: May 16, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728