Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 11:29:24

Sponsor 743
June 13
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Scott Sexton Memorial) - $5,200
Information provided by: Richard Allen, track and series reports (last updated June 14, 5:17 pm)
Cook edges McIntosh for $5,200 at Bulls Gap
Scott Sexton Memorial
  1. Ray Cook
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Mark Douglas
  4. Jason Welshan
  5. David Payne
  6. Vic Hill
  7. Roger Best
  8. Skylar Marlar
  9. Mark Dodson
  10. Mark Vineyard
  11. Jensen Ford
  12. Riley Hickman
  13. Ryan King
  14. Ellery Leake
  15. Bobby Mays
  16. Dillon Tidmore
  17. Chad Ogle
  18. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  19. Cory Hedgecock
  20. Josh Henry
  21. Dale Ball
  22. Dusty Carver
presented by
Randall Perry/rpmphotos.net
Ray Cook heads to a $5,200 victory in Volunteer's Scott Sexton Memorial.
What won the race: Using an outside move, third-starting Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., overtook Mark Douglas of Knoxville, Tenn., in a three-wide battle for the lead including Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., on the 36th lap. McIntosh took second from Douglas for second on the final circuit. Polesitter and fast qualifier David Payne finished fifth.
Key notes: Cook has 13 career Southern All Stars victories. ... The lone caution flew on lap 33 for Josh Henry. ... Series points leader Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., was a late arrival because of hauler issues. ... The third annual Scott Sexton Memorial honored the late Pigeon Forge, Tenn., driver and 10-time Southern All Star race winner. ... The Southern All Star Series returns to Bulls Gap on July 4.
On the move: McIntosh climbed from eighth to record his runner-up finish.
Winner's sponsors: Cook's No. 53 Capital Race Car has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by American Racer South, A+ Moving & Storage, Collins Signs, Integra Shocks, K&N Performance Filters, Old Man's Garage, Performance Rod & Custom, Schaeffer's Racing Oil, Tommy Pope Construction and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Through June 13, Hickman has 520 points to lead Dillon Tidmore (418).
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Mark Douglas
Time: 13.178 seconds
Polesitter: David Payne
Consolation race winners: Skylar Marlar, Dillon Tidmore
Next series race: June 20, Talladega Short Track (Eastaboga, AL) $4,000
Editor's note: Fixes that Mark Douglas, not David Payne, led the first 35 laps.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information