Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 17:15:24

Sponsor 743
June 13
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 14, 5:37 pm)
TST gives Smith $3,000, first Chevy win
  1. Terry Smith
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Tim Busha
  4. Ryan King
  5. Tim Roszell
  6. Jeff Smith
  7. Jake Knowles
  8. Adam Martin
  9. Jacob Grizzle
  10. Oliver Gentry
  11. Adam Beeler
  12. David Brannon
  13. Tyler Crowder
  14. Mario Gresham
  15. Lavon Sparks
  16. Josh Johnson
  17. Barry Goodman
  18. Colby Kilgore
  19. Matt Dooley
  20. Tony Thompson
  21. Jadon Frame
  22. Ross Martin
  23. Nathan Mayes
  24. Brandon Williams
presented by
Brian McLeod/NeSmith Racing
Terry Smith zips around Talladega, where he won his first Chevy Series victory.
What won the race: Using the high groove, Terry Smith of Oxford, Ala., took the lead on the 45th of 50 laps, outrunning Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., for his first career Chevy Performance Super Late Model Series victory at Talladega Short Track to earn $3.000. Johnson, who led laps 19-44, was second while early leader and polesitter Ryan King finished fourth.
Quotable: “My car was working on the bottom, but I saw Johnson running pretty well on the outside, so I thought maybe there was something more up there,” Smith said. “After the halfway point, we had kind of a misty rain, and everyone moved to the bottom groove. I figured I had nothing to lose and everything to gain trying the outside and it worked.”
Key notes: Smith went from third to first over the final 10 laps, first overtaking King (who led the first 18 laps) and then Johnson. ... Two lap-16 cautions slowed the action; Lavon Sparks slowed on the frontstretch and Nathan Mayes spun on the restart. ... Brandon Williams of Crossville, Tenn., set fast time, but he lost a pulley off his engine hot-lapping befrore the feature and scratched. ... Friday's race at Penton Raceway drew 27 entries, but rain reset the action for July 17.
On the move: Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Smith's self-built TSR Chassis is sponsored by Daffron Body Shop, Lollar Plumbing and Extreme Painting @ Signs.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson leaves Talladega with 196 points to lead Tim Busha (184) and Adam Martin (178).
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Brandon Williams
Time: 14.492 seconds
Consolation race winners: Matt Dooley
Next series race: June 27, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information