Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 22:40:07

Sponsor 743
June 6
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 7, 2:36 pm)
Watkins pads points lead with first Clash victory
  1. Ben Watkins
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Johnny Pursley
  4. Scott Autry
  5. Tim Allen
  6. Anthony Sanders
  7. Dean Bowen
  8. Aaron Ridley
  9. Kevin Wilson
  10. Joey Coulter
  11. Mike Parker
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Travis Hair
  14. Josh Langley
  15. Craig Shuffield
  16. Luke Roffers
  17. Lance Brasington
presented by
What won the race: Series points leader Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., led all 40 laps, topping fellow front-row starter Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., by 1.198 seconds for a $4,000 payday and his first Carolina Clash victory.
Key notes: The race's initial start was called back. ... An angry Luke Roffers retired after a lap-3 spin. ... Mike Parker went around for the first time on the 10th lap; Dean Bowen spun on the ensuing restart, collecting Doug Sanders and Aaron Ridley looped it on the next attempted start. ... Parker spun again on lap 33. ... Former Carolina Clash champ Scott Autry of Fayetteville, made his first start since flipping a car in April 2014 at Virginia Motor Speedway, finishing fourth. He piloted a Harold Holly-prepared Rocket Chassis with a new Cornett Racing Engine with car owner Lyndon McClellon and crew chief Rodney Bethea supporting him. ... Promoter Jim Long Jr. announced that the winner will be guaranteed a starting spot in the June 18 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Fayetteville (that offer goes on to the highest-finishing driver in attendance, if the winner doesn't attend).
On the move: Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C., started 13th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Watkins drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by A-Mobile Storage Co., Cagle Racing Automotive, Cartersville Country Winery, Heintz Bros. Performance and Sandwood Racing.
Points chase: Watkins extended his lead with the victory. He has 893 points to lead Doug Sanders (762) and Kevin Wilson (710) through June 6.
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Time: 17.509 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Consolation race winners: Doug Sanders
Next series race: June 9, Laurens County Speedway (Laurens, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Mitchell
Row 2: Bowen, Ridley
Row 3: Roffers, Allen
Row 4: Coulter, Pursley
Row 5: Autry, Langley
Row 6: D. Sanders, Hair
Row 7: A. Sanders, Wilson
Row 8: Parker, Brasington
Row 9: Shuffield

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information