Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/02/2023 14:14:11

Sponsor 743
May 23
Whynot Motorsports Park,
Meridian, MS
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Coca-Cola 40) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 24, 10:35 am)
In tight Whynot finish, McRee tips Boland
Coca-Cola 40
  1. Justin McRee
  2. Mike Boland
  3. Jim McDuffie
  4. Eric Cooley
  5. Chase Washington
  6. Evan Ellis
  7. Ronnie Johnson
  8. Michael Blount
  9. Tim Dees
  10. Ryan King
  11. Bryant Marsh
  12. Jamey Boland
  13. Monte Skinner
  14. Brent Barrett
  15. Doug Sanchagrin
  16. Larry Murphy
  17. Chris O'Connor
  18. Marcus Minga
  19. Randy Boyd
  20. Michael Arnold
  21. Matt Henderson
  22. Nick Thrash
  23. Casey Haney
  24. Chase Edge
presented by
Brian McLeod/NeSmith Media
Justin McRee captured a $2,000 NeSmith victory.
What won the race: Winning by just .064 seconds, third-starting Justin McRee of Woodstock, Ala., overcame broke problems to edge Mike Boland of Cuba, Ala., at the finish for a $2,000 NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory in Whynot Motorsports Park's Coca-Cola 40.
Quotable: “I knew we had a good race car tonight, as we went back to our 2012 setups and the car came to life once again,” McRee said. “We’ve given some races away here in the past, and I thought we were going to do it again tonight on a couple of occasions. We were having some brake issues that was really bogging down the engine coming off the corners.”
Key notes: McRee earned his 12th series triumph. ... Jim McDuffie paced the first 22 circuits before McRee took charge. ... McRee led laps 23-33, but Boland tipped him to lead the 34th lap. ... McRee spun trying to answer Boland's move, but a slowing Randy Boyd was ticketed with the caution, restoring McRee to the lead. ... After the restart, McRee jumped back out front and narrowly held off Boland to become the tour's 10th different winner this season. ... Last year's race winner Brent Barrett placed 14th. ... Whynot contested the first of two events apart of NeSmith's annual Salute to the Armed Forces Nationals. ... The tour slides to Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss., on Sunday for another $2,000-to-win program.
On the move: Boland, the race's runner-up, started on the fifth row. ... Fourth-place finisher Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., started 17th. ... Fifth-place finisher Chase Washington of Houlka, Miss., started 21st.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., leaves Whynot with 764 points, 66 more than Chase Edge.
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Jim McDuffie
Time: 13.152 seconds
Polesitter: Jim McDuffie
Consolation race winners: Chris O'Connor, Tim Dees
Provisional starters: Chase Edge, Matt Henderson
Next series race: May 24, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information