Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 18:10:30

Sponsor 743
April 20
Quincy Raceway,
Quincy, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series West - $2,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis (last updated April 21, 1:16 am)
Unzicker takes Quincy following Pierce's trouble
  1. Ryan Unzicker
  2. Kevin Weaver
  3. Jason Riggs
  4. Denny Woodworth
  5. Mark Burgtorf
  6. Matt Furman
  7. Clint Kirkham
  8. Trace Westling
  9. Bobby Pierce
  10. Justin Jennings
  11. Jamie Wilson
  12. Jason Perry
  13. Jim Moon
  14. Alan Westling
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Ryan Unzicker heads to an Easter evening victory at Quincy.
What won the race: Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., inherited the race lead when Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., pulled into the infield with an expired motor while leading with 11 laps remaining and went on to capture the $2,000 victory.
Key notes: Unzicker led the opening 26 laps, turning back heavy pressure from Pierce. ... Pierce began to pull away after finally taking the lead on the 27th circuit, but abruptly forfeited the race and pulled into the infield with motor trouble of the 29th lap. ... Unzicker ran the final stretch unchallenged to score his third career ALMS win. ... Hometown driver Jamie Wilson brought out the feature's lone caution on the eighth lap. ... Pierce entered Quincy's action on a personal five-race winning streak. ... Defending track champion Denny Woodworth finished fourth. ... Polesitter Jason Perry of Payson, Ill., faded before retiring while running fifth. ... The Easter event opened Quincy's season after Mother Nature spoiled scheduled action each of the previous two weekends.
On the move: Sixth-starting Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., climbed to second at the finish.
Winner's sponsors: Unzicker wheels a Pierce Race Car powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine with sponsorship from Aftershock Decals & Designs, Leman Paint Works, Keyser Manufacturing, Kingdon Farms, Pro Tire and Automotive, RJR Transportation Co. and Schumacher's Tyre Service.
Points chase: Pierce will maintain the ALMS points lead with his ninth-place finish.
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Jason Perry
Time: 13.711 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Perry
Heat race winners: Jason Perry, Ryan Unzicker
Next series race: May 9, Kankakee County Speedway (Kankakee, IL) $2,000
Editor's note: Updates lap on which Pierce retired.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728