Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 09:14:01

Sponsor 743
March 23
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Indiana Icebreaker) - $15,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated March 24, 11:50 am)
Moran outduels Pierce, wins Brownstown thriller
Indiana Icebreaker
  1. Devin Moran
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Mike Marlar
  4. Max Blair
  5. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  6. Hudson O'Neal
  7. Brandon Sheppard
  8. Josh Rice
  9. Nick Hoffman
  10. Daulton Wilson
  11. Tim McCreadie
  12. Michael Chilton
  13. Tanner English
  14. Tyler Erb
  15. Jonathan Davenport
  16. Carson Ferguson
  17. Brian Shirley
  18. Drake Troutman
  19. Devin Gilpin
  20. Garrett Alberson
  21. Ross Robinson
  22. Tony Jackson Jr.
  23. Boom Briggs
  24. Brenden Smith
  25. Cory Lawler
  26. Daniel Adam
  27. Dennis Erb Jr.
  28. Shelby Miles
  29. Jason Jameson
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Devin Moran celebrates his $15,000 Indiana Icebreaker victory at Brownstown.
What won the race: After a hard-fought battle with Bobby Pierce to grab control, Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, paced the final 14 circuits to win Saturday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned 27th annual Indiana Icebreaker 50 at Brownstown Speedway. Moran earned $15,000 and his first career victory at the quarter-mile oval by 0.532 of a second over Pierce.
Quotable: “I didn’t get a good start,” Moran said. “I knew Sheppy was on softer tires than us, and then we finally just got rolling and I caught up to him and passed him (for the lead). When that bottom was real brown like that Bobby (Pierce) was really good at squirting underneath there, but then the lapped cars came about. (Crew chief) Chuckie (Kimball) did a good job telling me to move up and I did, and once I did I could may hay in three and four.”
Key notes: Making his first start since receiving penalties for failing a tire test following his apparent Feb. 13 DIRTcar-sanctioned victory at Volusia Speedway Park, Moran registered his first Lucas Oil Series triumph of 2024 and the ninth of his career. ... Pierce shot from third-to-first on lap 16 to grab the lead from Moran; Moran rebounded to pace laps 21-22 and Pierce led laps 23-36 before Moran stayed ahead from lap 37 to the finish. ... Just after losing the lead to Moran on the 37th circuit while racing through slower traffic, Pierce made contact with the back of Tony Jackson Jr.'s in turn one and the lapped driver spun to bring out the race's second and final caution flag. ... Mike Marlar finished a close third while Max Blair advanced from 14th to place fourth. ... Brandon Sheppard led laps 1-14 before ceding the spot to Moran and fading to a seventh-place finish. ... Points leader Ricky Thornton Jr. started sixth and finished fifth. ... In his first start since departing the Mark Richards-owned Rocket house car, Hudson O’Neal finished sixth aboard a Kevin Rumley-owned Longhorn No. 71.; Rocket1's new pilot Tim McCreadie finished 11th after starting third. ... A slowing Jason Jameson brought out the first caution on the second circuit. ... The feature lasted 18 minutes with 25 starters running at the finish.
On the move: Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., started 18th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Moran’s Double Down Motorsports Longhorn Chassis carries a Clements Race Engine and sponsorship from Lazydays RV, Big River Steel, McHugh Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Ram Fiat, CarSourceAuto.com, Red Oak Pub, C&W Trucking & Sons, Inc., Bomag, Southeastern Equipment, VP Race Fuels, Eibach Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Accu-Force Dynos, Lucas Oil Products, Smoky Mountain Speedway, Haulin’ Haskel’s, Lincoln Smith Racing, GE Auto Sales and WME Detailing.
Points chase: After Brownstown: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr. (1,595); 2. Hudson O’Neal (1,585); 3. Jonathan Davenport (1,520); 4. Devin Moran (1,500); 5. Brandon Sheppard (1,455); 6. Daulton Wilson (1,445); 7. Mike Marlar (1,425); 8. Tim McCreadie (1,350); 9. Jimmy Owens (1,335); 10. Garrett Alberson (1,295); 11. Tyler Erb (1,285); 12. Clay Harris (1,205).
Current weather: Clear, 46°F
Car count: 48
Fast qualifier: Michael Chilton
Time: 13.315 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Moran
Dash winner: Shelby Miles
Heat race winners: Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, Brandon Sheppard, Mike Marlar
Consolation race winners: Devin Gilpin, Josh Rice
Provisional starters: Drake Troutman, Ross Robinson, Tony Jackson Jr., Brenden Smith, Daniel Adam, Cory Lawler
Next series race: March 24, Atomic Speedway (Alma, OH) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, Sheppard
Row 2: McCreadie, Marlar
Row 3: Pierce, Thornton Jr.
Row 4: Ferguson, Wilson
Row 5: Chilton, Hoffman
Row 6: Erb, Davenport
Row 7: Alberson, Blair
Row 8: Shirley, O'Neal
Row 9: Gilpin, Rice
Row 10: Briggs, Erb Jr.
Row 11: Jameson, English
Row 12: Troutman, Robinson
Row 13: Jackson Jr., Smith
Row 14: Adam, Lawler
Row 15: Miles

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information