Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 20:56:11

Sponsor 743
September 3
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Buddy Rogers Memorial) - $5,044
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 4, 10:56 am)
Last-lap pass lifts Knuckles to Tazewell triumph
Buddy Rogers Memorial
  1. Dakotah Knuckles
  2. Austin Neely
  3. Brandon Williams
  4. Jason Trammell
  5. John Llewellyn
  6. Josh Henry
  7. Brian Smith
  8. Josh Sneed
  9. Brian Shockley
  10. Donovan Long
  11. Matt Shockley
  12. Hunter Graybeal
  13. Steve Smith
  14. Mack McCarter
presented by
What won the race: Executing a last-corner, last-lap pass on race-long pacesetter and polesitter Austin Neely, sixth-starting Dakotah Knuckles of Ewing, Va., earned $5,044 Sunday at Tazewell Speedway in capturing the 15th annual Buddy Rogers Memorial. Knuckles took the checkers a few lenghts ahead of Neely for his third career Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series victory.
Key notes: Knuckles notched his first Tazewell special event win since another last-lap triumph in Iron-Man action on July 3, 2021. ... Hometown driver Austin Neely led 43 laps before settling for second. ... Six cautions slowed the 44-lapper, including front-row starter Jason Trammell slowing on the first start after contact. ... Hunter Graybeal and Donovan Long made their first-ever series feature starts ... Troy Eads scratched from the feature. ... On Hall of Fame night, Tazewell inducted Leonard Bray, Wayne Overholt, Tony Horton and Rick Welch. … Hoosier Tire South's Jimmy “Pup” Thomas sold sponsored laps (at $44 each) with all donations going directly to the American Cancer Society in honor of Buddy Rogers. ... Tazewell’s last major special of the season is Oct. 7’s Crate Racin’ USA event paying $10,000-to-win.
On the move: Winner Dakotah Knuckles started sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Knuckles drives a Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine and sponsored by Hill’s Truck Repair, Marcum Oil, Florida Veterinary Cardiology, Hickory Star Resort & Marina, Barrier Roofs, Western Building Supply, LMC Excavating, SFP Performance Systems, Smith’s Commissary, Irvin Enterprises, Fastlane and Turn Key Realty.
Points chase: Before Tazewell: 1. Josh Henry (402); 2. Josh Rice (395); 3. Michael Chilton (302); 4. Adam Ahl (291); 5. Austin Lay (225).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 15
Fast qualifier: Austin Neely
Time: 11.160 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Neely
Consolation race winners: Josh Henry
Next series race: October 6, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects Neely as second-place finisher.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Neely, Trammell
Row 2: McCarter, Williams
Row 3: Llewellyn, Knuckles
Row 4: Henry, B. Shockley
Row 5: M. Shockley, B. Smith
Row 6: Sneed, S. Smith
Row 7: Long, Graybeal
Row 8: Eads
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information