Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 05:44:15

Sponsor 743
August 26
Lake Cumberland Speedway,
Burnside, KY
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Harold Hardgrove Memorial) - $15,022
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 2, 8:04 pm)
Lake Cumberland gives Rice richest career payday
Harold Hardgrove Memorial
  1. Josh Rice
  2. Skylar Marlar
  3. Greg Johnson
  4. Rod Conley
  5. Tripp Gerrald
  6. Josh Henry
  7. Jesse Lay
  8. Jason Jameson
  9. Rusty Ballenger
  10. Austin Lay
  11. Shane Bailey
  12. Dallas Miller
  13. Tyler Nicely
  14. Zak Blackwood
  15. Michael Chilton
  16. Camaron Marlar
  17. Grant Garrison
  18. Scott Cook
  19. Devin Gilpin
  20. Shane Irvin
presented by
Ryan Roberts
Josh Rice heads for victory at Lake Cumberland Speedway.
What won the race: Second-starting Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., cruised to win Saturday's $15,022 12th annual Harold Hardgrove Memorial at Lake Cumberland Speedway, securing the richest payday of his career. Rice recorded his sixth Valvoline Iron-Man Series victory of the season and the 12th of his career, giving him sole-possession of first on the tour's all-time wins list.
Key notes: It's Rice's third series victory of the season at Lake Cumberland after topping May's $7,531 Johnny Wheeler Memorial and June's $5,000 Hall of Fame 40. … Fifth-starting Skylar Marlar finished in the runner-up spot, 1.315 seconds back. ... Greg Johnson started fourth and finished third. ... Rod Conley improved four positions and finished fourth. ... Josh Henry gained six spots and finished sixth. ... Jason Jameson advanced nine positions and finished eighth. ... Pole-starting Michael Chilton pulled off on lap 32. ... The event honors Harold Hardgrove, a former Kentucky racer and former Lake Cumberland Speedway promoter. Not only reinstating the Lake Cumberland Classic in 1998, Hardgrove introduced the first $10,000-to-win event there in 2002. Hardgove’s son, Brandon, currently owns and operates Lake Cumberland Speedway, holding the event annually in memory of his father; Harold died Aug. 28, 2009, at the age of 54. ... Saturday's 50-lap feature lasted 40 minutes, with 11 competitors completing the entire distance and 12 running at the finish.
On the move: Tripp Gerrald of Maryville, Tenn., started 16th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Rice’s Rick Jones-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Sunesis Holdings & Construction, BLOX Spiked Ice, Extreme Sportswear, Map It Right Engineering & Land Surveying, Chain Locker USA, Maxwell Trucking, AirMax Heating and Cooling, ATC Bolts & Fasteners LLC, Northern Kentucky Equipment, Bazell Race Fuels, Integra Shocks, Accu-Force Dynos & Testers, STAKT Products, TopSide Marketing and Slicker Graphics.
Points chase: After Lake Cumberland (Southern Series): 1. Josh Henry (402); 2. Josh Rice (395); 3. Michael Chilton (302); 4. Adam Ahl (291); 5. Austin Lay (225). After Lake Cumberland (Northern Series): 1. Josh Rice (630); 2. Austin Lay (346); 3. Michael Chilton (302); 4. Rod Conley (279); 5. Camaron Marlar (220).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Michael Chilton
Time: 13.277 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Chilton
Heat race winners: Michael Chilton, Josh Rice
Next series race: September 3, Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, TN) $5,044
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chilton, Jo. Rice
Row 2: Gilpin, Johnson
Row 3: S. Marlar, C. Marlar
Row 4: Nicely, Rod Conley
Row 5: J. Lay, Ballenger
Row 6: Blackwood, Henry
Row 7: Cook, A. Lay
Row 8: Irvin, Gerrald
Row 9: Jameson, Bailey
Row 10: Garrison, Miller

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information