Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 19:34:50

Sponsor 743
August 18
Mississippi Thunder Speedway,
Fountain City, WI
Sanction: Wabam Dirt Kings Tour (Rumble by the River 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 21, 5:56 pm)
Timm rumbles to fourth Dirt Kings win at MTS
Rumble by the River 40
  1. Jake Timm
  2. Nick Anvelink
  3. Tyler Bruening
  4. Jordan Yaggy
  5. Jake Redetzke
  6. Jesse Glenz
  7. Brett Swedberg
  8. Chad Mahder
  9. Dustin Sorensen
  10. James Giossi
  11. Taylor Scheffler
  12. Lukas Postl
  13. Nick Panitzke
  14. Troy Springborn
  15. Mitch McGrath
  16. Justin Green
  17. Kyle Raddant
  18. Sam Mars
  19. Justin Ritchie
  20. Mike Mullen
  21. Lance Matthees
  22. Spencer Diercks
  23. Paul Parker
  24. Ron Berna
  25. A.J. Diemel
  26. Gunner Frank
presented by
Chad Marquardt
Jake Timm heads to victory at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.
What won the race: Jake Timm of Winona, Minn., grabbed the lead from race-long pacesetter Jordan Yaggy on lap 12 and never looked back en route to winning Friday night's Hurco and Stone Machine Rumble by the River 40 at Mississippi Thunder Speedway. The son of track co-owner Bob Timm beat Nick Anvelink to the finish line by 1.574 seconds for the $5,000 top prize in the event sanctioned by the Wabam Dirt Kings Tour.
Quotable: “I was definitely nervous at the end there, we put a softer tire on than I think we should’ve,” Timm said. “The track slicked-off way faster than I thought it was going to, so I was really trying to save (my tires) throughout the whole race. With eight (laps) to go there, I saw (Anvelink) get under me, I just gave it all I had; fortunately we were able to keep the lead.”
Key notes: Timm registered his fourth career triumph on the Dirt Kings tour. All of them have come at Mississippi Thunder, where he previously won series events in 2019, '20 and '22. ... Anvelink moved into the runner-up position on lap 24 and trailed Timm the rest of the way. … Tyler Bruening was a surprise entrant, joining the field after deciding to drop off the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. He won a B-main and advanced all the way to a third-place finish, shooting from sixth to third from laps 29-34. … After leading laps 1-11 off the pole, Yaggy faded to a fourth-place finish. He held off Jake Redetzke’s challenges in the closing circuits. … Dustin Sorensen overcame a flat tire while running sixth on lap 22 to rally for a 10th-place finish aboard the Jimmy Mars-owned MB Customs house car. … A flat tire ended Sam Mars’s night while running 15th on lap 36. … The 40-lap feature was slowed by three cautions and lasted 20 minutes, with 13 drivers completing the distance and 17 running at the finish. ... The event was originally scheduled as a two-day show before Thursday’s $3,000-to-win opener was cancelled. ... Mississippi Thunder hosts the World of Outlaws Case Late Models for the second time this season with a two-day show Aug. 31 and Sept. 1 paying $10,000 and $20,000-to-win.
On the move: Debuting a new Longhorn Chassis, Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, started 19th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Timm’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Gorilla Mill, Hurco Companies Inc., Oakridge Fabrication, Horman HVAC LLC, RiverCity Mfg. and Machining, OFI Performance, Stone Machinery, Riverland Trucking, J&S Cattle, R&R Machining and Mississippi Thunder Speedway.
Points chase: After Mississippi Thunder: 1. Nick Anvelink (338); 2. Mike Mullen (330); T3. Brett Swedberg (282); T3. Troy Springborn (282); 5. Joel Bennett (247).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Jake Timm
Time: 14.206 seconds
Polesitter: Jordan Yaggy
Heat race winners: Jake Timm, Jordan Yaggy, Brett Swedberg, A.J. Diemel
Consolation race winners: Tyler Bruening, Lukas Postl
Provisional starters: Justin Ritchie, Ron Berna, Justin Green, Lance Matthees
Next series race: August 25, Plymouth Dirt Track (Plymouth, WI) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Yaggy, Diemel
Row 2: Timm, Swedberg
Row 3: Anvelink, Glenz
Row 4: Mullen, Redetzke
Row 5: Sorensen, G. Frank
Row 6: Panitzke, Mahder
Row 7: Giossi, Scheffler
Row 8: Diercks, Parker
Row 9: S. Mars, Postl
Row 10: Bruening, Springborn
Row 11: Raddant, McGrath
Row 12: Ritchie, Berna
Row 13: Green, Matthees
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information