Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/18/2024 07:10:45

Sponsor 743
October 31
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Mid-East Super Late Models (Prelude to the Finals) - $7,500
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated November 1, 11:57 am)
Wilson treated to $7,500 victory at Cherokee
Prelude to the Finals
  1. Daulton Wilson
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Drake Troutman
  4. Gray Parton
  5. Logan Roberson
  6. Jordan Koehler
  7. Adam Yarbrough
  8. Ross Bailes
  9. Dennis Franklin
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Daulton Wilson heads for a $7,500 victory at Cherokee Speedway.
What won the race: Pole-starting Daulton Wilson of Fayetteville, N.C., led all 40 laps to score Tuesday's $7,500 Prelude to the Finals victory at Cherokee Speedway. Gearing up for this weekend's World Finals, the Lucas Oil Series regular earned his first career Mid-East Super Late Model triumph in the series second event.
Quotable: "It's cool to come home and race. Jason (Walls) has always done a good job promoting stuff (with the Mid-East Racing Association)," Wilson said. "To come out here and support him is cool. To get us a win and a paycheck heading into Charlotte is that much better."
Key notes: Second-starting Donald McIntosh briefly challenged for the lead on a lap-21 restart, but ultimately trailed Wilson for the entire distance, finishing 1.838 seconds back. ... Making his first start aboard the Chris Bragg-owned Longhorn, Drake Troutman took third-place on lap 21 and completed the podium. ... Gray Parton held third until the lap-21 restart and settled for fourth. ... Sixth-starting Logan Roberson completed the top-five finishers. ... After drawing the race's only caution with a flat right-rear on lap 20, Jordan Koehler rebounded to finish sixth. ... Sixth-running Ross Bailes pulled off on lap 31. ... After inheriting the sixth spot from Bailes, Adam Yarbrough called it a night on lap 35. ... Battling mechanical woes all evening, Dennis Franklin retired on lap eight. ... Breaking in a new seat on his 40th birthday, Jonathan Davenport qualified fifth and finished third in his heat, before opting to load up and save his new Longhorn Chassis for Charlotte. ... David Yandle and Dan Stone also scratched from the main event lineup. ... Tuesday's feature lasted 13 minutes, with six competitors completing 40 laps.
On the move: Jordan Koehler of Mount Airy, N.C., started eighth and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Wilson’s Rattliff Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Grant Lee Farms, MGL Auto Sales, Keltner Contracting, Equiplinc Auction Group, Budda Bert Transmission, JRR Trucking, JRR Motor Sales and The Auto Outlaws.
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 46°F
Car count: 12
Fast qualifier: Daulton Wilson
Time: 15.291 seconds
Polesitter: Daulton Wilson
Heat race winners: Daulton Wilson, Donald McIntosh
Editor's note: Corrects winner's engine builder and reference to Mid-East Racing Association’s Jason Walls.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Wilson, McIntosh
Row 2: Troutman, Parton
Row 3: Davenport, Roberson
Row 4: Yarbrough, Koehler
Row 5: Stone, Bailes
Row 6: Yandle, Franklin

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information