Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/16/2024 09:04:56

Sponsor 743
May 28
Duck River Raceway Park,
Wheel, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $10,053
Information provided by: Robert Holman, series and track reports (last updated May 30, 1:59 pm)
McDowell wins finale, Ferguson crowned champ
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Carson Ferguson
  3. Benji Hicks
  4. Sam Seawright
  5. Caden Mullinax
  6. Ricky Weiss
  7. Chase Oliver
  8. Jadon Frame
  9. Kenny Collins
  10. Haiden Cowan
  11. Dillon Tidmore
  12. Josh Putnam
  13. Parker Martin
  14. Ross Bailes
  15. Matthew Brocato
  16. David McCoy
  17. Dalton Cook
  18. Oakley Johns
  19. Joe Denby
  20. Ryan Wilson
  21. Grayson Brewer
  22. Chase Walls
presented by
Tyler Carr
Dale McDowell waves to the fans at Duck River Raceway Park.
What won the race: Pole-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., led all 53 laps unchallenged Sunday at Duck River Raceway Park for a $10,053 Schaeffer's Spring Nationals victory in the tour finale. McDowell led every lap for the second consecutive night to record his tour-leading 16th career victory while runner-up Carson Ferguson wrapped up the series championship for the second straight season.
Quotable: “It’s important (to start up front), it really is. Qualifying is everything — everybody is so close, the competition level is unbelievable, a lot of talent," said McDowell. "All these guys, I mean it’s just tough, and if your night doesn’t go good all throughout the night, then it’s tough to get up through there.”
Key notes: McDowell now has 51 top-five finishes in 54 career series starts. ... Carson Ferguson, of Lincolnton, N.C., trailed McDowell the entire distance, finishing 1.264 seconds back and clinching the Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals title worth $10,053. ... Ferguson joins McDowell and Donald McIntosh as two-time series champions, with each coming in consecutive seasons. ... Benji Hicks started and finished third. ... Overcoming heat race damage, Ricky Weiss was the only driver to advance his position inside the top 10, gaining four spots and finishing sixth. ... Series runner-up Ross Bailes started and finished 14th. ... The feature was completed without incident and lasted 13 minutes, with 13 drivers completing 53 laps. ... The series has a non-points makeup event July 3 paying $21,000-to-win at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.
On the move: Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, started 10th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Northeastern Fabrication, Fox Racing Shox, Campbell Insulation Specialists, Shackleford Enterprises and Spring-Pro.
Points chase: Final: 1. Carson Ferguson (1,546); 2. Ross Bailes (1,520); 3. Kenny Collins (1,466); 4. Haiden Cowan (1,454); 5. Caden Mullinax (1,398).
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 13.372 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Dale McDowell, Benji Hicks, Carson Ferguson, Sam Seawright
Consolation race winners: Oakley Johns, Parker Martin
Provisional starters: Joe Denby, Dalton Cook
Next series race: July 3, Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, TN) $21,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, Ca. Ferguson
Row 2: Hicks, Seawright
Row 3: Mullinax, Oliver
Row 4: Frame, Collins
Row 5: H. Cowan, Weiss
Row 6: Tidmore, Putnam
Row 7: Brocato, Bailes
Row 8: Wilson, McCoy
Row 9: Johns, Martin
Row 10: Brewer, Walls
Row 11: Denby, Cook
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information