Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/13/2024 23:47:18

Sponsor 743
April 1
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Nationals) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 2, 9:30 pm)
Davenport unbeatable in Wheatland MLRA finale
Spring Nationals
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Garrett Alberson
  4. Bobby Pierce
  5. Logan Martin
  6. Spencer Hughes
  7. Payton Looney
  8. Stormy Scott
  9. Gordy Gundaker
  10. Billy Moyer
  11. Tanner English
  12. Jeff Herzog
  13. Earl Pearson Jr.
  14. Brian Shirley
  15. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  16. Ryan Gustin
  17. Tyler Stevens
  18. Dillon McCowan
  19. Larry Ferris
  20. Daniel Hilsabeck
  21. Tony Jackson Jr.
  22. Steve Stultz
  23. Trevor Gundaker
  24. Brennon Willard
  25. Chris Simpson
  26. Kolby Vandenbergh
  27. Chris Hawkins
  28. Mason Oberkramer
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Jonathan Davenport celebrates his $10,000 victory in the MLRA Spring Nationals finale.
What won the race: Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., dominated Saturday night’s 40-lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association Spring Nationals finale, leading from flag-to-flag without facing a serious challenge to pocket the $10,000 top prize at Lucas Oil Speedway. He beat Chad Simpson of Mt. Vernon, Iowa, to the finish line by 2.918 in the caution-free event.
Quotable: “It just feels really good to win,” Davenport said. “We’ve had a lot of bad racing luck. We’ve had fast cars, so this just builds the confidence back up in the team and myself.”
Key notes: Davenport swept the program, setting fast time and winning his heat before controlling the feature’s entire distance off the pole position. … The victory was the ninth of Davenport’s career in MLRA action and his fifth overall of 2023; his four previous triumphs this season all came in January. … Chad Simpson started from the outside pole and ran alone in second place from green-to-checkered. … Garrett Alberson overtook Brian Shirley for third on lap 13 and stayed in the position to the finish. … Bobby Pierce’s late charge from the 13th starting spot culminated with him grabbing fourth place from Logan Martin with two laps remaining. … Shirley ran in the top five until his car sustained significant right-rear bodywork damage in a scrape just after the halfway point, causing him to fade to 14th in the finishing order. … Ricky Thornton Jr., who won Friday’s $5,000 feature, qualified through a B-main and finished one lap down in 15th place.
On the move: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., started 13th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport’s Double L Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, Lucas Oil, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, VP Racing Fuels, Bilstein, Hoosier Racing Tire, Go Lithium, Midwest Sheet Metal and K1 RaceGear.
Points chase: After Wheatland Saturday: 1. Jonathan Davenport (470); 2. Bobby Pierce (440); 3. Chad Simpson (415); 4. Ricky Thornton Jr. (405); 5. Garrett Alberson (395); 6. Tanner English (385); 7. Logan Martin (370); 8. Earl Pearson Jr. (365); T9. Billy Moyer (360); T9. Spencer Hughes (360).
Current weather: Clear, 43°F
Car count: 50
Fast qualifier: Jonathan Davenport
Time: 15.680 seconds
Polesitter: Jonathan Davenport
Heat race winners: Jonathan Davenport, Jeff Herzog, Logan Martin, Chad Simpson, Spencer Hughes, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Kolby Vandenbergh, Ricky Thornton Jr.
Next series race: April 7, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Davenport, Chad Simpson
Row 2: Herzog, Hughes
Row 3: Martin, Shirley
Row 4: Alberson, S. Scott
Row 5: Looney, Pearson Jr.
Row 6: McCowan, Moyer
Row 7: Pierce, G. Gundaker
Row 8: Ferris, English
Row 9: Stultz, Chris Simpson
Row 10: Vandenbergh, Thornton
Row 11: Hawkins, Gustin
Row 12: Jackson Jr., Stevens
Row 13: Provisional starters
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information