Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/15/2024 20:53:23

Sponsor 743
October 23
U.S. 36 Raceway,
Osborn, MO
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden and series reports (last updated October 24, 10:24 am)
Marlar masters $10,000 WoO stop at U.S. 36
Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour
  1. Mike Marlar
  2. Chase Junghans
  3. Tyler Bruening
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Ryan Gustin
  6. Max Blair
  7. Josh Richards
  8. Brandon Sheppard
  9. Gordy Gundaker
  10. Shane Clanton
  11. Brent Larson
  12. Billy Moyer
  13. Boom Briggs
  14. Billy Moyer Jr.
  15. Trevor Gundaker
  16. Daniel Hilsabeck
  17. Jordan Yaggy
  18. Paul Glendenning
  19. Curt Schroeder
  20. Dustin Walker
  21. Reid Millard
  22. Andrew Kosiski
  23. Chad Walter
  24. Kayden Clatt
  25. Tanner English
  26. Larry Clawson
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Mike Marlar in victory lane at U.S. 36 Raceway in Osborn, Mo.
What won the race: Just hours after completing an engine change following Saturday's failed oil pump belt, fourth-starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., used lapped traffic to take the lead on lap 26 and never looked back, winning Sunday's $10,000 World of Outlaws Case Late Models weekend finale at U.S. 36 Raceway. Marlar notched his fourth series victory of the season and the 12th of his career. Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., cliched his first WoO championship with his fourth-place finish.
Quotable: "The car was really good all night long," Marlar said. "I ran out of tear-offs early, so we needed that caution, I got my helmet all cleaned up where I could see where I was going and after that I could really trek."
Key notes: Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Kan., led laps 8-25 before being overtaken by Marlar and finishing 3.459 seconds back. Junghans secured this third top-five finish of the weekend, including his $10,000 victory in Friday's opener at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. ... Tyler Bruening led the first seven laps from the pole; he settled for third. ... WoO champ Dennis Erb Jr. finished fourth, securing his 21st top-five finish through 40 races. ... Max Blair finished sixth and trails English by only 20 points for second in series standings, along with Rookie of the Year honors. ... Gordy Gundaker gained two spots and finished ninth. ... Shane Clanton advanced six positions and finished 10th. ... English was on his way to securing his 18th-straight top-10 finish when a broken right-front lower control arm ended his night on lap 17, relegating him to finish 25th. ... In its second-ever visit to the Osborn, Mo.-oval, World of Outlaws Late Model series officials scratched Sunday's consolation race, opting to start all 26 entries in the main event. ... Sunday's feature, the finale of the Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour, a weekend tripleheader honoring the late Hall of Fame announcer, was slowed by a single caution for English and lasted 13 minutes, with 14 competitors completing 40 laps.
On the move: Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., started 14th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Marlar’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Delk Equipment Sales, Rockets Convenience Plus, Tri-Rivers Enterprise (Mark and Kim Dotson), Auto Parts 4 Less, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Capital Capsigns, VP Racing Fuels, Stanley Best Heating & Aiar, Midwest Sheet Metal and Bilstein.
Points chase: After U.S. 36 Raceway: 1. x-Dennis Erb Jr. (5,440); 2. Tanner English (5,282); 3. Max Blair (5,262); 4. Ryan Gustin (5,030); 5. Brent Larson (4,890); 6. Josh Richards (4,808); 7. Gordy Gundaker (4,780); 8. Boom Briggs (4,630); 9. Shane Clanton (3,992); 10. Tyler Bruening (3,318). x-clinched championship
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Tyler Bruening
Time: 12.913 seconds
Polesitter: Tyler Bruening
Heat race winners: Tyler Bruening, Mike Marlar, Ryan Gustin
Next series race: November 2, Dirt Track at Charlotte (Concord, NC) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bruening, D. Erb Jr.
Row 2: Junghans, Marlar
Row 3: English, Gustin
Row 4: Richards, Blair
Row 5: B. Larson, Briggs
Row 6: G. Gundaker, Hilsabeck
Row 7: T. Gundaker, Sheppard
Row 8: Moyer, Clanton
Row 9: A. Kosiski, Yaggy
Row 10: Moyer Jr., Walker
Row 11: Clatt, Glendenning
Row 12: Schroeder, Walter
Row 13: Millard, Clawson
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information