Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 18:35:07

Sponsor 743
January 6
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Ice Bowl ) - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated January 9, 10:32 am)
Seawright's flat lifts Cook to Ice Bowl victory
Ice Bowl
  1. Ray Cook
  2. Chris Jones
  3. Will Roland
  4. Todd Morrow
  5. Scott Crigler
  6. Sam Seawright
  7. Booger Brooks
  8. Will Harris
  9. Dalton Cook
  10. Randy Holder
  11. Pearson Lee Williams
  12. Blake Craft
  13. Dallas Cooper
  14. J.T. Seawright
  15. Mike Bargo
  16. Mark Bangs
  17. Christian Hanger
  18. David Seibers
  19. Andy Morris
  20. Michael Seibers
  21. Chase Oliver
  22. Maddux Mullinax
  23. Jason Hiett
  24. Jordy Nipper
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Talladega Short Track co-owner Adam Stewart (left) celebrates with Ray Cook after his third career Ice Bowl victory.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead on lap 42 when race-long pacesetter Sam Seawright suffered a flat tire, 12th-starting Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., controlled the final eight circuits Saturday at Talladega Short Track to record his third career Ice Bowl victory. The $7,500 triumph was his first with the Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series.
Quotable: “We’re just so thankful," Cook said. "It’s Talladega, it’s the Ice Bowl, there’s about a groove-and-a-half out there. We were just fortunate enough to be able to run right above them, keep the left sides in the rubber and luckily we didn’t tear it up no more than I did.”
Key notes: Cook, the 2009 and '12 Ice Bowl winner, was involved in two separate incidents in the opening laps before moving steadily through the field. He cracked the top five for the first time on lap 35 and reached second on lap 40, positioning himself to take advantage of Seawright's misfortune. ... After leading the first 42 laps from the outside front row, Seawright changed his flat right-rear tire and finished sixth. ... Fourteenth-starting Chris Jones finished second, 2.442 seconds behind Cook. ... Todd Morrow advanced 14 positions and finished fourth. ... Booger Brooks suffered a flat right-rear tire while running second on lap 43; he settled for seventh. ... Will Harris gained 16 spots and finished eighth, the final driver running at the finish. ... Polesitter Pearson Lee Williams failed to lead a lap and was involved in a multi-car incident on a lap-36 restart attempt; he was unable to continue and finished 10th. ... J.T. Seawright suffered mechanical trouble while running second on lap 29 and finished 14th. ... The 32nd annual Ice Bowl feature was slowed by 16 caution flags and lasted 58 minutes, with six competitors completing all 50 laps. … While a non-points event for the Iron-Man Southern Series, Saturday’s main event was the season opener for the Iron-Man Late Model Winter Series, a three-race schedule that continues at Boyd's Speedway on Jan. 28 for $4,000-to-win.
On the move: Will Roland of Jasper, Ga., started 20th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Cook’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Vinson Sims Construction, Denby J&J Construction, Youngblood Concrete, SFP Performance Systems, Sunoco Race Fuels, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil and American Racer South.
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 68°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Sam Seawright
Time: 14.653 seconds
Polesitter: Pearson Lee Williams
Heat race winners: Pearson Lee Williams, J.T. Seawright, Sam Seawright, Dallas Cooper
Consolation race winners: David Seibers, Todd Morrow
Next series race: January 28, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects finishing positions 10-12.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Williams, S. Seawright
Row 2: J.T. Seawright, Cooper
Row 3: D. Cook, Brooks
Row 4: Oliver, Nipper
Row 5: Crigler, Hanger
Row 6: Mullinax, R. Cook
Row 7: Hiett, Jones
Row 8: Bangs, Craft
Row 9: D. Seibers, Morrow
Row 10: Morris, Roland
Row 11: Bargo, M. Seibers
Row 12: Holder, Harris

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information