Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 02:22:36

Sponsor 743
January 6
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Shootout (Ice Bowl) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated January 8, 12:15 pm)
Welshan tops CRUSA opener at Talladega
Ice Bowl
  1. Jason Welshan
  2. Booger Brooks
  3. Trevor Sise
  4. Oakley Johns
  5. Wyatt Wilkerson
  6. Cory Hedgecock
  7. Jake Traylor
  8. Jake Knowles
  9. Cody Overton
  10. Joshua Bishop
  11. Jody Knowles
  12. Tucker Anderson
  13. Sawyer Crigler
  14. T.J. Brittain
  15. Jason Lively
  16. Jeff Smith
  17. Brian Smith
  18. Phillip Anderson
  19. Richie Shirey
  20. Dustin Harris
  21. Landon Bagby
  22. Chase Walls
  23. Mario Gresham
  24. Addison Cardwell
  25. Jadon Frame
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Jason Welshan celebrates a $3,000 victory in the CRUSA portion of the Ice Bowl.
What won the race: Defending Crate Racin' USA national champion Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn., led all 40 laps Saturday at Talladega Short Track, securing his second $3,000 Ice Bowl feature victory in the CRUSA Winter Shootout Series season opener.
Key notes: Booger Brooks of Chickamauga, Ga., the winner of the CRUSA Street Stock race earlier in the day, moved into second on the final lap and finished 0.970 of a second behind Welshan. ... Trevor Sise grabbed third on the final lap to complete the podium. ... Jake Traylor advanced six positions to place seventh. ... Cody Overton gained five spots and finished ninth. ... Joshua Bishop started 16th and finished 10th. ... After running second for the majority of the race, Jeff Smith and Brooks made contact on the final lap, causing him to spin and finish 16th. ... The lone caution was displayed on lap 23 when Dustin Harris slowed to a stop at the entrance of turn one. ... Saturday's feature lasted 12 minutes, with 15 drivers completing all 40 laps. … The CRUSA Winter Series resumes at Volusia Speedway Park Jan. 19-21 for a $10,000-to-win show.
On the move: Booger Brooks of Chickamauga, Ga., started eighth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Welshan’s Savage Chassis is sponsored by Mike Clonce Racing, Hux Motorsports, MRC Transportation Inc., Fike Fabrication, JJ Trucking and Excavating, Millwood Plumbing, Hickman Manufacturing, Competition Racing Equipment Inc., Team Huskey Logistics, Allen’s Pools and Matlock Decal Company.
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 61°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Jason Welshan
Time: 14.635 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Welshan
Heat race winners: Oakley Johns, Trevor Sise, Jeff Smith, Jason Welshan
Consolation race winners: Sawyer Crigler, Landon Bagby
Provisional starters: T.J. Brittain
Next series race: January 19, Volusia Speedway Park (Barberville, FL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Welshan, Johns
Row 2: J. Smith, T. Sise
Row 3: Walls, Hedgecock
Row 4: Wilkerson, Brooks
Row 5: Harris, Frame
Row 6: Ja. Knowles, Gresham
Row 7: Traylor, C. Overton
Row 8: Jo. Knowles, Bishop
Row 9: Crigler, Bagby
Row 10: T. Anderson, B. Smith
Row 11: Lively, Cardwell
Row 12: P. Anderson, Shirey
Row 13: Brittain
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information