Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 02:42:36

Sponsor 743
October 22
81 Speedway,
Park City, KS
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden, series and track reports (last updated October 23, 8:18 am)
81 Speedway gives Sheppard 81st WoO victory
Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour
  1. Brandon Sheppard
  2. Billy Moyer
  3. Dennis Erb Jr.
  4. Chase Junghans
  5. Gordy Gundaker
  6. Max Blair
  7. Tanner English
  8. Trevor Gundaker
  9. Tyler Bruening
  10. Shane Clanton
  11. Jacob Magee
  12. Brent Larson
  13. Billy Moyer Jr.
  14. Josh Richards
  15. Boom Briggs
  16. Daniel Hilsabeck
  17. Jordan Yaggy
  18. Dustin Walker
  19. Ryan Gustin
  20. Dustin Bolster
  21. Dusty Leonard
  22. Mike Marlar
  23. Logan Martin
  24. Joe Gorby
presented by
Todd Boyd
Brandon Sheppard celebrates his 81st career World of Outlaws Case Late Models victory at 81 Speedway.
What won the race: Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., led all 40 laps from the pole Saturday at 81 Speedway, topping the World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series and collecting $10,000. Sheppard secured his 81st career feature victory aboard his family-owned B5 Rocket Chassis and he remains the track's only WoO winner, after winning 2017's inaugural stop there.
Quotable: "It feels really good, it's been a whirlwind the past couple of months here and to be teaming-up with Riggs next year is going to be interesting for us for sure," Sheppard said. "I can't thank Mark Richards and Steve Baker enough for everything they've done for me in my career and got me to where I am."
Key notes: Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., ran inside the top-three all race and finished 0.701 of a second back. ... Dennis Erb Jr. finished third and extended his points lead as he closes-in on his first career World of Outlaws Late Model Series championship. Erb Jr. leads all drivers with 20 top-fives through 39 series races this year. ... Chase Junghans finished fourth and secured his second straight top-five finish after winning Friday's $10,000 opener at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. ... Max Blair advanced four positions and finished sixth, he now trails Tanner English by 56 points. ... English finished seventh and secured his 17th-straight top-10 series finish. ... Trevor Gundaker gained seven spots and finished eighth. ... Ryan Gustin was running third when he broke a driveshaft on lap 38 and finished 19th. ... After setting a new track record in qualifying, Mike Marlar lost an oil pump belt while running fourth on lap 23 and finished 22nd. ... Saturday's feature, the World of Outlaws' second-ever visit to 81 Speedway, was slowed by four cautions and lasted 27 minutes, with 18 competitors completing all 40 laps. ... The Rick Eshelman Kansas Tribute Tour concludes Sunday with one last $10,000-to-win feature at U.S. 36 Raceway in Osborn, Mo.
On the move: Tanner English of Benton, Ky., started 16th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Sheppard’s Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Valvoline, TrueTimber Camo, Wild Gear, Dennis G. Woodworth Attorney at Law, The Goddard School for Early Childhood Development, Keyser Mfg., 34 Raceway, Budda Dirt Cars Transmission Sales & Service, Guse’s Pub & Eatery, Mark Richards Racing, Print Worx, Sheppard Auto Sales, Speedwerx, Bill West Enterprises and Fromme Enterprises.
Points chase: After 81 Speedway: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (5,298); 2. Tanner English (5,180); 3. Max Blair (5,124); 4. Ryan Gustin (4,890); 5. Brent Larson (4,762); 6. Josh Richards (4,672); 7. Gordy Gundaker (4,648); 8. Boom Briggs (4,506); 9. Shane Clanton (3,862); 10. Tyler Bruening (3,174).
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Mike Marlar
Time: 15.718 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Sheppard
Heat race winners: Mike Marlar, Brandon Sheppard, Billy Moyer, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Jacob Magee, Josh Richards
Next series race: October 23, U.S. 36 Raceway (Osborn, MO) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sheppard, Moyer
Row 2: Gustin, Marlar
Row 3: G. Gundaker, D. Erb Jr.
Row 4: Junghans, Moyer Jr.
Row 5: Clanton, Blair
Row 6: Bruening, Martin
Row 7: Hilsabeck, Briggs
Row 8: T. Gundaker, English
Row 9: Magee, Richards
Row 10: Yaggy, B. Larson
Row 11: Walker, Gorby
Row 12: Bolster, Leonard

Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information