Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 19:21:51

Sponsor 743
September 24
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Yankee Dirt Track Classic) - $6,045
Information provided by: Track and series reports (last updated September 25, 8:52 am)
Kay grabs $6,045 Yankee victory at Davenport
Yankee Dirt Track Classic
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Jeff Larson
  3. Tad Pospisil
  4. Tyler Bruening
  5. Chad Holladay
  6. Joel Callahan
  7. Jesse Sobbing
  8. Luke Goedert
  9. Jake Neal
  10. Justin Zeitner
  11. Bill Leighton Jr.
  12. Andy Eckrich
  13. Jeff Aikey
  14. Charlie McKenna
  15. Derrick Stewart
  16. Jeff Tharp
  17. Curt Schroeder
  18. Matt Ryan
  19. Dave Eckrich
  20. Spencer Diercks
  21. Corey Zeitner
  22. Curtis Glover
  23. Andrew Kosiski
  24. Corey Dripps
  25. Nick Marolf
  26. Ron Boyse
  27. Logan Duffy
  28. Jason Hahne
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Justin Kay led all but 14 laps of the 60-lap main event.
What won the race: Polesitter Justin Kay took the lead on the 15th lap and dominated the rest of Saturday's caution-free 60-lap Yankee Dirt Track Classic for a $6,045 victory at Davenport Speedway. Kay, who took command after fellow front-row starter Nick Marolf led 14 circuits but retired a lap later with a broken motor, won the race co-sanctioned by the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series and Hoker Trucking Series.
Key notes: Kay also won the Yankee Dirt Track Classic in 2019 when it was held at 300 Raceway in Farley, Iowa. ... Runner-up Jeff Larson finished 2.851 seconds behind Kay after starting fifth. ... Kay won Friday's preliminary IMCA-sanctioned Late Model feature worth $1,045. ... Kay lapped all but five competitors in Saturday's 60-lapper. ... Davenport two weeks ago announced it was "borrowing" the Yankee Dirt Track Classic for 2022 by hosting a $6,045-to-win race after 300 Raceway management announced it wouldn't run one of Iowa's longest-running events because of staffing issues, tire shortages and inflation. ... Davenport promoter Ricky Kay — the winner's father — said he plans to host the event only in 2022 and return it to Farley next season.
On the move: Joel Callahan of Dubuque, Iowa, started 19th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay’s MB Customs Race Car is sponsored by Mycogen Seeds, Dow, Hoker Trucking, Wyffels Corn Hybrids, Malvern Bank, Pit Crew BBQ, Wehrs Machine, Petersen Insurance, Wheatland Ag Center, Kay Farms & Elevator, Wheatland Auto Body, JR’s Place, Heinee Jo’s, Doug Nigh’s RPMs, Kay Automotive and Ricky R. Kay & Son’s Trucking.
Points chase: Malvern Bank Series points after Davenport: 1. Jesse Sobbing (2,876); 2. Bill Leighton Jr. (2,866); 3. Jake Neal (2,770); 4. Tad Pospisil (2,768); 5. Corey Zeitner (2,748). Hoker Trucking Series after Davenport: 1. Justin Kay (2,854); 2. Luke Goedert (2,750); 3. Andy Eckrich (2,736); 4. Charlie McKenna (2,730); 5. Jason Hahne (2,680).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 63°F
Car count: 49
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 14.120 seconds
Polesitter: Justin Kay
Heat race winners: Derrick Stewart, Chad Holladay, Corey Dripps, Jeff Tharp, Jason Hahne, Jesse Sobbing
Consolation race winners: Matt Ryan, Jeff Aikey
Provisional starters: Corey Zeitner, Andy Eckrich, Jake Neal, Logan Duffy, Curt Schroeder, Ron Boyse
Next series race: October 15, I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE) $5,300
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Kay, Marolf
Row 2: Holladay, Pospisil
Row 3: Larson, Diercks
Row 4: Diercks, Bruening
Row 5: Sobbing, Leighton
Row 6: McKenna, A. Kosiski
Row 7: Stewart, Dripps
Row 8: Tharp, Ryan
Row 9: Aikey, D. Eckrich
Row 10: Callahan, Goedert
Row 11: C. Zeitner, A. Eckrich
Row 12: Neal, Duffy
Row 13: Schroeder, Boyse
Row 14: Glover, Hahne
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information