Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 09:56:57

Sponsor 743
September 3
Fairbury Speedway,
Fairbury, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (FALS Super Nationals) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 4, 2:47 pm)
Pierce dominates FALS Super Nationals for $10,000
FALS Super Nationals
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Shannon Babb
  3. Ryan Unzicker
  4. Brian Shirley
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  7. Chris Simpson
  8. Jeffrey Ledford
  9. Myles Moos
  10. Donny Walden
  11. Rich Bell
  12. Jake Little
  13. Mike Spatola
  14. Taylor Scheffler
  15. Derek Chandler
  16. Ryan VanderVeen
  17. Jake Miller
  18. Jay Sparks
  19. Steven Roberts
  20. Mike Mataragas
  21. Bob Gardner
  22. Jeff Herzog
presented by
Rocky Ragusa
Bobby Pierce on his way to a convincing victory in Saturday's FALS Super Nationals at Fairbury Speedway.
What won the race: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., led all 50 laps from outside the front row Saturday at Fairbury Speedway, winning the MARS-sanctioned FALS Super Nationals by more than six seconds for a $10,000 payday. The 25-year-old star was never seriously challenged en route to his second victory of 2022 at the quarter-mile oval, both coming in MARS competition.
Quotable: “The track was really slick. They had to not prep it because the rain was coming, luckily it stayed away,” Pierce said. “It was tricky, felt a lot like Macon. Macon gets that thick cushion right up on the wall and that's the only place that I'm really ever good at.”
Key notes: Pierce’s earlier MARS triumph this season at Fairbury came on May 14 when he capped Illinois Speedweek with a $30,000 first-place check. … Pierce has 15 career MARS victories. … Shannon Babb used the extreme low line to advance from the 16th starting spot and finish second. He slipped past Ryan Unzicker for the runner-up spot on lap 44 but was nearly a half-lap behind Pierce, who officially beat Babb by a commanding 6.611 seconds. … Unzicker overtook Brian Shirley for second on lap 41 but settled for third. … Shirley was fourth after running second for laps 11-39. … Jason Feger’s march forward from the 20th starting spot resulted in a fifth-place finish after he cracked the top five with with two laps remaining. … Polesitter Steven Roberts failed to lead a lap and tangled with Jay Sparks twice, first on a lap-one restart attempt and again on lap five. Sparks, who won his first-ever feature at Fairbury one week earlier, finished 18th while Georgia’s Roberts was 19th. … The feature was slowed by three cautions and lasted 23 minutes with nine competitors completing 50 laps. ... The MARS weekend tripleheader in Illinois concludes Sunday with a $5,000-to-win stop at Spoon River Speedway.
On the move: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 20th and finished fifth; runner-up Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., started 16th.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Rio Grande Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Extreme Electric, Toyota of Danville, Quality Paint & Body, Base Racing Fuels, Senior Life Insurance and the Vermilion County Bobcats.
Points chase: After Fairbury: 1. Ryan Unzicker (704); 2. Jason Feger (671); 3. McKay Wenger (500); 4. Bob Gardner (475); 5. Mike Spatola (442).
Current weather: Overcast, 73°F
Car count: 42
Fast qualifier: Bobby Pierce
Time: 12.936 seconds
Polesitter: Steven Roberts
Heat race winners: Steven Roberts, Jay Sparks, Bobby Pierce, Frank Heckenast Jr.
Consolation race winners: Ryan VanderVeen, Rich Bell
Provisional starters: Bob Gardner, Mike Spatola
Next series race: September 4, Spoon River Speedway (Banner, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Roberts, Pierce
Row 2: Sparks, Heckenast Jr.
Row 3: Little, Walden
Row 4: Moos, Mataragas
Row 5: Chandler, Shirley
Row 6: Chr. Simpson, Unzicker
Row 7: Miller, Ledford
Row 8: Scheffler, Babb
Row 9: Vanderveen, Bell
Row 10: Herzog, Feger
Row 11: Gardner, Spatola

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information