Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:28:27

Sponsor 743
September 2
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Smoky Mountain Showdown) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 6, 10:18 am)
Owens wires WoO field at Smoky Mountain
Smoky Mountain Showdown
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Chris Ferguson
  3. Max Blair
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Ryan Gustin
  6. Cory Hedgecock
  7. Tanner English
  8. Josh Richards
  9. Boom Briggs
  10. Brandon Overton
  11. Payton Freeman
  12. Brent Larson
  13. Dwight Falcon
  14. Taylor Puckett
  15. Hudson O'Neal
  16. Shane Clanton
  17. John Blankenship
  18. Cameron Weaver
  19. Sam Seawright
  20. Ricky Weiss
  21. Skip Arp
  22. Dale McDowell
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Jimmy Owens celebrates at at Smoky Mountain Speedway.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps from the pole, Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., rolled to the $10,000 World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series victory in Friday’s Smoky Mountain Showdown at Smoky Mountain Speedway. He finished 1.289 seconds ahead of second-starting Chris Ferguson.
Quotable: “The bottom looks so good down there and I figured somebody's gonna be coming on (the bottom) before too long," Owens said. "I think my guy was telling me (Chris Ferguson) was right on the bottom and I was just waiting on that to come in. Luckily, things played out in our favor, but I was able to hang on and I had a good car all night.”
Key notes: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., broke a right-rear wheel late while running second. He slammed into the turn-three wall and was credited with 15th. … After dealing with trailer issues on the way to the track, Brandon Overton raced his way into the feature via the B-Main and went 21st-to-10th. … Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., retired on the 10th circuit after getting into a multicar incident involving O'Neal and Ryan Gustin. … Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., pulled pitside on lap 14 because of an oil-pump belt issue. … Action heads to Lavonia Speedway on Saturday for the $10,000-to-win Charlie Size Memorial.
On the move: Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., started 17th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Owens drives a Ramirez Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monument, Boomtest Well Service, Tim Short Auto Group, Red Line Oil, Georgia Arms, Midwest Sheet Metal and Ohlins Shocks.
Points chase: After Smoky Mountain: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (4,738); 2. Tanner English (4,634); 3. Max Blair (4,558): 4. Ryan Gustin (4,380): 5. Brent Larson (4,264); T6. Josh Richards (4,178); T6. Gordy Gundaker (4,134); 8. Boom Briggs (4,028); 9. Shane Clanton (3,348); 10. Tyler Bruening (2,902).
Current weather: Overcast, 81°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Ryan Gustin
Time: 15.937 seconds
Polesitter: Jimmy Owens
Heat race winners: Ryan Gustin, Jimmy Owens, Chris Ferguson
Consolation race winners: Sam Seawright
Next series race: September 23, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Owens, Ferguson
Row 2: Clanton, Weiss
Row 3: Hedgecock, Gustin
Row 4: McDowell, O'Neal
Row 5: English, Erb
Row 6: Blair, Richards
Row 7: Blankenship, Freeman
Row 8: Weaver, Puckett
Row 9: Briggs, Arp
Row 10: Seawright, Larson
Row 11: Overton, Falcon
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information