Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/24/2024 23:54:04

Sponsor 743
August 19
Kankakee County Speedway,
Kankakee, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Big Daddy Scrap 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated August 20, 11:23 am)
Spatola collects $5,000 MARS victory at Kankakee
Big Daddy Scrap 40
  1. Mike Spatola
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. McKay Wenger
  4. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  5. Kevin Weaver
  6. Kye Blight
  7. Curtis Roberts
  8. Jason Feger
  9. Paul Parker
  10. Bob Gardner
  11. Nick Allen
  12. Mike Mataragas
  13. Justin White
  14. Titus Sneed
  15. Glen Thompson
  16. Tom Smith
  17. Toma Johnson
  18. Jake Miller
  19. Rich Bell
  20. Dan DeYoung
  21. Spencer Diercks
  22. Rich Dawson
  23. Bradley Jameson
  24. Ted Johnson Jr.
presented by
Chris Johnston
Mike Spatola outran MARS foes at Kankakee County.
What won the race: Overtaking early leader Frank Heckenast Jr. on lap 13, fourth-starting Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., raced to his second career MARS Racing Series victory in Friday’s Big Daddy Scrap 40 at Kankakee County Speedway. He finished 1.802 seconds ahead of Ryan Unzicker.
Key notes: Series point leader Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 24th and finished eighth after breaking a driveshaft in his heat race. ... Second-starting Spencer Diercks of Davenport, Iowa, who forfeited his third-place finish on Thursday at Dubuque Speedway after weighing in light at the scales, retired on lap 16. ... A dozen drivers completed 40 laps. ... MARS wraps up its weekend tripleheader Saturday with a visit to Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington, Wis. … Matt Hammond won Kankakee’s Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Curtis Roberts of Coleman, Mich., started 19th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Spatola’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Custom Race Engine and sponsored by Big Daddy Scrap, B&D Chemical, Steve’s Performance, TJS Mechanical, Illinois State Rifle Association, V.R. Haag Consulting and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Entering the weekend: 1. Jason Feger (466); 2. Ryan Unzicker (449); 3. McKay Wenger (369); 4. Bob Gardner (315); 5. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (300).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 72°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Kye Blight
Time: 14.114 seconds
Polesitter: Kye Blight
Heat race winners: Kye Blight, Spencer Diercks, Frank Heckenast Jr.
Next series race: August 20, Lafayette County Speedway (Darlington, WI) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Blight, Diercks
Row 2: Heckenast, Spatola
Row 3: Wenger, Weaver
Row 4: Bell, Unzicker
Row 5: Allen, Parker
Row 6: Gardner, Jameson
Row 7: Mataragas, Dawson
Row 8: White, Sneed
Row 9: Smith, Thompson
Row 10: Roberts, Miller
Row 11: To. Johnson, Te. Johnson
Row 12: DeYoung, Feger
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information