Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 18:48:19

Sponsor 743
July 18
Ogilvie Raceway,
Ogilvie, MN
Sanction: Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series (XR Northern Storm) - $2,000
Information provided by: Racexr.com and series reports (last updated July 19, 2:03 pm)
Mars cruises, wins XR Northern Storm opener
XR Northern Storm
  1. Jimmy Mars
  2. Cole Searing
  3. Jon Tollakson
  4. Harry Hanson
  5. Danny Vang
  6. Travis Budisalovich
  7. Darrell Nelson
  8. Jody Bellefeuille
  9. Shane Edginton
  10. Pat Doar
  11. James Giossi
  12. Jordan Tollakson
  13. Dave Flynn
  14. Kevin Eder
  15. Derek Vesel
  16. Dan Ebert
  17. Rick Niemi
  18. Dave Mass
  19. Kevin Burdick
  20. Don Shaw
  21. Bryce Sward
  22. Ryan Mikkelson
  23. Gunner Frank
  24. Jeff Massingill
  25. Kyle Barger
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Jimmy Mars discusses his dominating Ogilvie victory.
What won the race: Pole-starting Jimmy Mars led all 40 laps from outside the front row to capture the opening round of the XR Northern Storm miniseries on the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series. The unchallenged Mars earned $2,000 in taking the checkers 3.556 seconds ahead of tour points leader Cole Searing in the caution-free feature.
Quotable: "It got a little bit one-laned there, but you know what? We were in the lead so, that's good for me," said Mars, who faced lapped traffic. "You just gotta be careful sometimes with (slower cars). There was a couple of times where I had to whoa up quite bit. I just kind of had to make sure I didn't make any mistakes — I still made a couple, I'm always good for a couple of anyways during the race — but no, everything went good."
Key notes: Mars has 12 career WISSOTA Challenge victories. ... Mars, whose lead grew as large as six seconds, survived a minor scrape with the slower car of Bryce Sward exiting turn four on the 10th lap. ... Sixteen of 25 starters completed 40 laps. ... Ogilvie hosted the first of five nights of XR Northern Storm action at five tracks in Minnesota and Wisconsin highlighted by Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series programs paying at least $2,000-to-win. ... The miniseries is presented by DrTroyPowers.com. ... Following Ogilvie is Grand Rapids (Minn.) Speedway, Hibbing (Minn.) Raceway, ABC Raceway in Ashland, Wis., and Gondik Law Speedway in Superior, Wis. (running twin 25s paying $2,000-to-win each). ... WISSOTA modifieds and Midwest mods join Late Models on the card each night. ... Watch all live on racexr.com.
On the move: James Giossi of Hudson, Wis., started 18th and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Mars drives an MB Customs Race Car powered by a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsored by Veit, Vonco, Deppe Enterprises, T.L. Sinz Plumbing, Keyes Chevytown, Armi Contractors, Mid-States Equipment, Baileigh Industrial, S&S Transport, QualityFreightRate, Groveyard Auto, Joe Signs, VP Racing Fuels and Joe Provo Race Wear.
Points chase: After Ogilvie: 1. Cole Searing (537); 2. Shane Edginton (516); 3. Ryan Mikkelson (451); 4. Darrell Nelson (439); 5. Jon Tollakson (431).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 42
Polesitter: Jimmy Mars
Heat race winners: Gunner Frank, Danny Vang, Kevin Eder, Shane Edginton
Consolation race winners: Dave Flynn, Dan Ebert
Provisional starters: Jeff Massingill, Dave Mass, Kevin Burdick
Next series race: July 19, Grand Rapids Speedway (Grand Rapids, MN) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mars, Searing
Row 2: Jon Tollakson, Vang
Row 3: Hanson, Budisalovich
Row 4: Edginton, Nelson
Row 5: G. Frank, Eder
Row 6: Sward, J. Bellefeuille
Row 7: Jor. Tollakson, Doar
Row 8: Mikkelson, Vesel
Row 9: Niemi, Giossi
Row 10: Flynn, Ebert
Row 11: Peterlin, Shaw
Row 12: Massingill, Mass
Row 13: Burdick

Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information